Nuts to Me – Roasted Pistachios = Real Easy Recipe

RECIPE FOR ROASTING RAW PISTACHIOS WITHOUT SALT

Some months back I bought raw pistachios in the shell to roast. I want to avoid all the salted nuts. Sure it takes about fifteen minutes of work to roast pistachios. No problem.

RECIPE to Roast Pistachios

Put the raw pistachios on a baking pan. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F. Set a timer for 6-8 minutes and Voila! Roasted pistachios. The raw flavor doesn’t appeal to my taste buds. It has a green taste. Roasting pistachios brings out a sweetness in the nut and pops the nuts open.

Roasted Pistachios © CKatt 2018

I am taking this to Fiesta Friday #215, which has some fantastic looking Green fiesta foods for St Patrick’s Day! 

A Food Story –

Many years ago I worked at a well known food company as a minion as part of a creative area of the company. Creative people were kind to the artist, me. This group included the newly minted graphic designers and creative managers who produced the packaging for the many products the company owned and sold. These people were dedicated and easy to work with even as a returnee to the work world.

There would be many days when sweet treats and buns were dropped off from the testing groups in front of my desk. Not being a big fan of pastries or prefab foodstuff, I would decline the offerings. Not a big thing for me.

Then one day, the head of the department took issue with my lack of interest in the food. (oh dear.) He sat down with me at my desk to ask me why I didn’t eat these foods. (Fair enough.) I simply said, “I grew up eating whole foods. That’s what I am used to eating.” The poor man looked bewildered. He may have tried to make a case for the products, but that fell flat. He probably thought I was nuts. A confusion registered on his face that read to me as if I had just crossed some imaginary boundary of conventional eating habits. (o well.)

Okay, I am persnickety about food. My interest in food and health developed right after college. Tolerance is practiced by me and towards me. I try to stay out of people’s food habits.

Everybody has their own food culture. Here in the Northland baking is high art. With those church lady bakers and fine professional bakers and all, you can swing a cat in any direction and find recipes  and bakeries that will delight or startle you. Food is love – especially the sweet tooth stuff.  ‘Nuff said. So I don’t crave cinnamon rolls and pop tarts…to each her own tastes. I might not turn down a nice home made cookie now and then and cake is hard to resist…

but mostly, at home:

I like nuts and dried fruits for snacks. Of course, I ran into some site online about healthy food that declaims that dried fruits are bad for you or certain nuts are not worth eating…I mean food fads are making me “Nuts.” (That story is for another time.)

Tree Nut Comparison Chart

This chart is a nutrient comparison of tree nuts put out by the California Almonds Board. Here’s a little science from the USDA Research Service. Who knows better? Nuts may be a good food? Retrieved March 15, 2018 – California Almond Board

California Almond Board

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

Have a healthy day. “Enjoy in moderation”

Hug someone.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Food Humor, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nuts to Me – Roasted Pistachios = Real Easy Recipe

  1. chef mimi says:

    I think I’ve had a donut one time in my life, and that was when I was trying to quit smoking. I feel your pain! (Or, rather, lack of pain!)

  2. iScriblr says:

    Super informative post! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.