500 grams = how many cups? Recipe for Irish Soda Bread

There are many, no really, too many measurement conversion sites out on the web. You can calculate anything.  Finding the right site can be a challenge. After some false starts, I found out that 500 grams is equivalent to 4 and 1/2 cups of flour. I hope that’s right. (Worry) the site had a warning of sorts that this was not exact or something.  Oh heck, I forged boldly onward.

Cooking Measurement Equivalents — Infoplease.com

This is an international effort. At this point I want to mention my 2 favorite food blogs – “Richard’s Table” (in English) and “Sabina Kookt!” (in Dutch).  They are both fantastic cooks and writers who have taught me plenty about food prep and artistry.

The dry-ish  ball of dough in the oven  is supposed to turn into Irish Soda Bread. It a recipe from Sabina, hot off the web and probably in her oven in the Netherlands. Flash! I am curious about buttermilk and inspired to make it as it is bread from my heritage on my mother’s side of the family.

My mother, who just turned 95, was never a baker, but she told me once about baking bread every Saturday with her grandmother.  That’s the only mention of baking that Mother handed down to me.  Oh, there was one time when she bought Pillsbury pie dough sticks and had me roll out the dough for pie. That was my first contact with the alien dough.   It was a strangely soothing experience, rolling and smoothing the magic stuff into a new form. Pie. My obsession has an origin. (Light bulb goes on).

This bread I think needed more moisture than what the recipe called for in buttermilk. There is a theme building about climate and moisture in my baking experiments. Netherlands wettish climate. Mine not so wet today.

Bell rings on timer. Okay it looks like a crusty ball and weighs as much as a small bowling ball. Well almost as much.  I put it back in for 5 more minutes. Yes, I know it won’t make it lighter, but it will make it crustier.  Crusty can be redeeming in bread? Right?

Ring! It looks done. Test it by tapping it. If it sounds hollow, then it’s done.

This unbelievably easy bread recipe is “via via”as the Dutch like to say, from Sabina at Sabina kookt! http://sabinakookt.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/iers-sodabrood, to me then to you and originated in Dutch (and no, that’s not what they speak in Denmark). It’s from Boer & Kok.

My translation:

Buttermilk Irish Soda Bread

Sift 4 1/2 cups of  flour

Add:

1 teaspoon of baking soda

1 teaspoon of salt

1 2/3 cup of buttermilk approximately

 

Mix the butter milk gradually into a depression that you made in the flour.

 

Lightly work it into a ball and slash an x on the top. It looks a little rough.

 

Place it in the oven on a lightly floured cooking sheet

Bake at 450 degrees for 10 minutes

Then lower the temperature to 400 degrees for 30 minutes.

Eat with a smear of Irish butter. ( Just did!) Smiling now.

 

No guarantees…I am an amateur cook after all. Have fun cooking!

 

Now for one more slice. Yum.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Quick Breads, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

