Food for Thought Friday = Inspiring Blogs

“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind, and the third is to be kind.” ― Henry James

I found this quote on the site Indihope. It is a young man’s blog about being positive. He  suffered a broken back and had a long recovery. I also follow Dream Big Dream Often. Danny is a person who is dealing with MS. He continues to inspire me to get up and do something with my life.

Both of these inspirational bloggers encourage sharing life experiences with other bloggers. I participate on the blog Fiesta Friday a food blog with people from all over the world.

Yesterday after reading Dream Big Dream Often from March 9, 2016 entitled: Why you need to read my experience with walking the dog I was moved by his story, which reminded me, ever so gently, to pay attention and have some courage.

That night I resolved a plan for the next day. This lead me to work on a small painting that has been sitting on my wall unfinished since 2008. when I started it in oil paint.

[After August of 2008, when I suffered a TBI, I could not paint or read books nor write anymore. Only one or two people in my life saw the difference in my behavior and the struggle to relate to people I had. Traumatic Brain Injury is the “invisible disability”.  After months of research on alternatives, as of last year, I started painting with acrylic paints. They are non-toxic. It was intimidating and frustrating to learn a new medium. My determination carried me through.]

Unfortunately oil painting uses chemicals that affect my brain quickly. It’s unpleasant after effects are not fun or healthy.

Yet there hung the old paintings. I was confronted with them and reminded of my limitations every day. I still wanted to finish them. (Once a painting is started in oils, it has to be finished in oil paint.)

After Reading Danny’s story, I knew there must be a way around minimizing the bad effects:

Shorten the time of exposure to the additives. Keep the chemicals covered. Use a minimal amount. Quit when I start to feel confused or tired.  Caution is the key word.

 “Do it in little pieces.” A dear friend reminded me.

Blogging has lead me to be in contact with writers, chefs, bakers, cooks, artists, humorists, conservationist, astrophysicists, photographers, thinkers, satirists, poets,  journalists, novelists, singers, farmers, gardeners and any number of inspiring people from all over the planet.  All the while I am looking for positive messages.

Yesterday I realized these bloggers are a community of hope for me from which to enjoy their inspirations and enthusiasms for living life no matter what!

Thank you everyone, for stopping by my kitchen!

Peace

P1030360.JPG

Sunset from Monhegan Island, Maine CKatt 2013

 

 

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Food for Thought Friday = Inspiring Blogs

  1. Pingback: Featured Bloggers 3/31/16: How to Blog Network | Dream Big, Dream Often

  2. bhumi says:

    wonderful post…very nicely put up…

  3. The Hook says:

    Thanks for the share – and the insight – my friend.

  4. It’s very good you found a way to use the oil paint with minimum exposure to the harmful chemicals. Your post is wonderful and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

