Root Beer Cupcakes Experiment = Dessert Disaster Averted – Alicia Saves the Cupcakes!

Okay, okay okay. Again I’m just appearing out of nowhere to be here and tell a short adventure.

Thinking about The Minnesota State Fair 2024 and the baking Competition…Alicia is a grand cake baker. I had this recipe that I found for root beer cupcakes that was gathering dust. Hey Alicia! How about baking a cake for the Minnesota State Fair? Would you like to use this root beer cupcake recipe as a trial run? Alicia suggested we bake them for a barbecue! Great idea.

I supplied a lot of the ingredients. I brought soft as silk flour brand. Recipe to follow…Here’s Alicia the multi talented Multi-tasker reading the recipe while mixing the dry ingredients. The Mixer belonged to her Gramma.

From Top left to right are Alicia, Gramma’s mixer, Chris, family friend, Louis, Alicia’s husband. Bottom The Guys and Alicia, taste testers Louis and Jasper, who is Alicia and Louis’ son. Note the resemblance as taste testers. Total Enthusiasm!

It’s not the easiest Recipe to follow. It looks yummy! But I never made the recipe. However, Alicia did the labor and I assisted with the directions. Let me say this, after the cupcake batter overflow in the oven – a root beer Vesuvius-like eruption – Don’t use cake flour. Use all purpose flour. (My Bad.)

Then once the cupcakes baked, the overflow was brilliantly solved when Alicia took a cup with rubber edges to cut off the excess on the cakes while still in the pans! Despite the smallish depressions in the center of the cupcakes which were filled each with 1 tbsp of root beer.

I brought root beer concentrate that I had had for some time. One bottle was unusable and in the second one we used warm water to make it soluble. Whew. It’s hard to find root beer extract!

READ ALL the directions and comments on page three. Surprise! Surprise! Don’t fill all the cups with batter to the top! I was mortified as I read this factoid out loud to Alicia, after the fact! Geez. We both looked at each other with raised eye brows!

Nonetheless, The butter cream frosting was perfect and everyone loved the dessert cupcakes for the barbecue!

Next Time: Study the recipe! There will be a test.

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen

Have a good weekend wherever you find yourselves

Peace

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Cake, Desserts, Food Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Root Beer Cupcakes Experiment = Dessert Disaster Averted – Alicia Saves the Cupcakes!

  1. mydangblog says:

    An adventure with a delicious outcome!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.