Favorite Fish Chowder Recipe from New England = My Mother’s Recipe

It has been a somber time in my life as my aged mother has passed away.  As I have told before in this blog, she did not teach me how to cook. (For the life of me, I’ll never know why.) There was one of her dishes that I asked her about a couple of years ago that I long for – my mother’s New England Fish Chowder Recipe. What you will find in restaurants and cans from the grocery store is some sludge that no New Englander, fish lover would call chowder.  If you find yourself wondering about the simplicity of this recipe, don’t fret because if you love fish, this is the cat’s meow of chowders.  Simple, fresh and plain good. Easy to make and takes very little time to cook!

I share this recipe as a tribute to my mother. (She only used butter.)

 

Catherine Rita McCarthy AKA Kate Rowell

 

 

 

New England Fish Chowder

Ingredients:

1 – 1 1/2 lbs fresh haddock or cod fish filet

2 tablespoons of butter

1 medium sweet onion sliced

½ cup diced celery

2 cups diced raw potato

½ cup diced carrots

2 cups boiling water

1 teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

1 cup milk

Cut cod or haddock fillets into bite sized pieces. Melt butter in large saucepan add the onion and celery cook until onion is tender and translucent.  Add potatoes, carrots, water, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer 10 to 15 minutes until vegetables are tender. Add fish and cook 10 minutes longer.  Add milk. Reheat, but do not boil.

 

Serve hot, with freshly baked homemade bread or rolls and butter.

P1080775

New England Fish Chowder – My Mother’s recipe.

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen!

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

