Blueberry Muffins Recipe – Cake Flour & Lemon Icing = A Farmer’s Market Visit

This is a republish of a Blueberry Muffin recipe from July 1,  2017.

Brunch on Sunday demands something fun and easy to make and eat. That’s what I am looking for…. waiting for this recipe to come out of the oven. There are so many recipes for blueberry muffins. When I used paper baking cups, the muffins stick to the paper. A test for buttering the pan is in the oven at this moment. Smells good!

Blueberry Muffin recipe with cake flour found at at “gourmetgirl“.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

INGREDIENTS and METHOD

12-1/2 ounces cake flour (3 cups)
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon salt

Combine/sift or whisk dry ingredients together in a bowl

Combine wet ingredients together. I used yogurt.

♥♥♥♥♥♥
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg
1 cup sour cream (can be substituted with yogurt)
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Mix wet ingredients into dry with a spoon
(wooden), but don’t beat or over mix.  Gently add blueberries.
2 cups blueberries, (1 pint)

Use an ice cream scoop to fill the cups to top. It’s a sticky batter. Work fast….

Sprinkle vanilla sugar –  a coarse sugar on top:
1/4 cup vanilla sugar for sprinkling tops
paper liners or buttered muffin tins

Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown, Remove from oven and let cool; then remove from pan as soon as they are cool enough to handle.

Makes 18 muffins

Notes: The sticky batter needed a little more moisture. The yogurt I used was made with a thickener…er so… next time thinner yogurt. Maybe sour cream would be more of a flavor kick.  The taste of the muffin is bland. I made a lemon confectioners sugar drizzle. This is a s’periment…

Sharing this with al the fine cooks at Fiesta Friday with Angie and the contributors for Fiesta # 178 Friday. Don’t be shy join the party!

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

I am celebrating seven years with this blog on WordPress.  Good ideas have come to me from blogging. Thank you to the many kind, generous people who have stopped by over the years to teach me about the art of cooking and life!

Have a peaceful and happy day.

Share the love – hug someone today.

Minneapolis Lyndale Farmer’s Market and Blueberry Muffins

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Cake, Farmer's Markets, photography, Quick Breads, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blueberry Muffins Recipe – Cake Flour & Lemon Icing = A Farmer’s Market Visit

  1. Priti says:

    Congratulations for seven years! Testy blueberry muffins 👌

  2. mydangblog says:

    I wonder if you could substitute raspberries—yum! Happy anniversary!

  3. Congratulations to you!!!

  4. Seven years – congrats to you! This is my favorite muffin and I always have some in the freezer (I add bananas to my muffins so I am always making them). I miss my Farmer’s Market – I recently moved and I’m not so close any more. Your pics are motivating; maybe not today but ?

  5. Jhuls says:

    These muffins are perfect to make ahead of time and grab the next day before going to school or work. Lovely recipe! Thanks for sharing & happy Fiesta Friday!

  6. Arl's World says:

    Love Blueberry Muffins! Happy weekend! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.