Eat Street Social Restaurant- Takes the Cake – Celebrate – Recipe for chocolate cake with olive oil.

I went to Eat Street Social restaurant in Minneapolis on September 19th. It was a nice enough day where the sun shone and the breezes were light – perfect for their terrace in back. For a celebration it was a very pleasant place. I was with two women friends; one was my friend who had just completed her chemotherapy treatment that afternoon. We celebrated!

The staff were really attentive and cordial. The food was very much to my liking. I had the lamb sandwich on a pretzel bun with shoestring fries. The lamb was tender and perfectly cooked. Shoestring fries were light and delicious.

Everyone else enjoyed their salad, wine, and fish sandwich. I had beer.  At the finish, when they asked if we wanted dessert, I asked for the dessert menu. There was a feeling that dessert was not wanted, but when I saw chocolate cake made with olive oil with “salted caramel semifreddo, hazelnut praline, orange creme anglaise”on the menu, I had to try it. “Let’s split it!” I said.

The dessert of chocolate cake made with olive oil, instead of butter, was beautifully presented and heaven to share. Sorry I don’t have pictures, but it is on the menu.

*******

After that experience, I was truly inspired I made a chocolate cake with olive oil for a birthday gift.  Chocolate Cake with Olive Oil Recipe from Chatelaine.com was an easy recipe to follow. There are scads of recipes for chocolate cake with olive oil.

Ingredients
5 tbsp boiling  water

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Chocolate olive oil Cake

Chocolate Olive Oil Cake

2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup granulated sugar
large eggs
2/3 cup olive oil
For the instructions please click the link above. 
Calories 334
Protein 4 g
Carbohydrates 36 g
Fat 20 g
Fibre 1 g
Sodium 175 mg

 

Notes: This was the easiest recipe I could find and was the least intimidating recipe too. Cake making is not my strong point.  Here’s the results. I never got to taste it, but one of the friends who received it, confessed to having eaten half of the cake. Their son ate all the dots of icing of the top. The theme was trees for my friends who love camping.

Have a good day wherever you might be.

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

Boxed Chocolate olive oil Cake

I am bringing this recipe to  Fiesta Friday #193. Cohosts this week are Suzanne @ apuginthekitchen and Ginger @ Ginger and Bread.

Many thanks to Angie and the cohosts along with all the gracious cooks who join this international gathering at Fiesta Friday!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Restaurants and Cafes, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eat Street Social Restaurant- Takes the Cake – Celebrate – Recipe for chocolate cake with olive oil.

  1. That’s a gorgeous cake! I’ve been wanting to try olive oil cakes, this one sounds like a keeper!

  2. You are getting me in the holiday mood with this beautiful cake. Yum!! Thank you so much for bringing to FF this week!

Leave a Reply

