Bridge = Weekly Photo Challenge – Imagine

Bridge Weekly Photo Challenge

 

P1050816

Golden Gate Bridge San Francisco California – CKatt

This weeks photo challenge reminds me of the many times I drove across the bridge years back.  The most harrowing time was during a rain storm where high winds made the bridge sway up and down as I drove through the driving rain one night. Nerves of steel and the certainty that I would make it across in my little VW Beetle…had me riding with resolve. I and many others reached the other side safely.

There was also the time when the Golden Gate bridge was open to walkers and closed to cars! At least a hundred thousand people showed up for the event – me among them with my friends. We were trapped for an hour and half midway across the bridge along with many thousands of people because those walkers who had gone on earlier were trying to walk back to the city side…two groups going in opposite directions…stuck in the middle. The dilemma eventually was sorted out. Never did get to the other side, but did return to the San Francisco side unscathed.

While waiting on the bridge I heard a comment that I will never forget regarding the tranquility of the multitudes stuck out on the bridge.  “I can’t believe this. This could never happen in New York.” Obviously an out of town visitor marveling at the patience that everyone showed despite the crowds and the time spent waiting.

The California spirit ruled the day.

This would be a good lesson to contemplate these days. With everyone in a hurry caught up in their own worlds…little patience or understanding being displayed, how can we bridge this divide in our lives?

“You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one”

Imagine – by John Lennon

Have a a peaceful day.

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bridge = Weekly Photo Challenge – Imagine

  1. Beautiful, it’s similar to the 25 de Abril bridge in Lisbon (Portugal).

  2. Pingback: WPC: Bridges | Lillie-Put

  3. Good for California spirit, but I’d hate to be stuck there for all that time. 🙂

    janet

Leave a Reply

