Pickled Cucumber Recipe = Easy as One, Two, Three

Recipe for Pickled Cucumber

Last Sunday for dinner my friends treated everyone to barbecue from a new local place Jimmie’s Southern BBQ Smokehouse on France Ave in Minneapolis – another Famous Dave’s small barbecue restaurant with smoked meats. The meal included pickled fresh cucumbers. They were cut”wafer thin” and delicious. Inspired by the pickled cucumbers, I found a simple recipe. There are recipes for mass quantities, but this uses just one cucumber and makes enough for a week. Perfect amount for my purposes.

Pickled Cucumbers Recipe

Ingredients

1 cucumber

4 teaspoons of sugar

1/4 cup vinegar (I used apple cider)

salt to taste

Method

Cut the cucumber into wafer thin slices. Place in a flat casserole pan (See link above for illustration.) Distribute the sugar over the cucumber mix well and let sit for 30 minutes.  Then add the vinegar. I let that sit until the cucumbers had absorbed the vinegar and sprinkled some salt.

Note: That resulted in my adding more vinegar, to which I first added a tablespoon of honey and a teaspoon of mustard with lots of mustard seeds. This offset the extra tart vinegar with some sweet. After watching P. Allen Smith’s show on making pickled onions, I topped off the jar with some water. The recipe I used (see link above) did not make enough juice on it’s own. This is my first time pickling anything! It was fun.

Put it in a clean jar, refrigerate and voila! They are good for a week. Ready for the fresh chicken salad sandwich that I made. The pickled cucumbers are better the second day. Thanks to Snapdish for the easy recipe. If you have a mandolin for slicing, this operation goes quickly. I cut the cucumber up by hand. Good practice.

IMG_1779

Pickled Cucumbers with Salmon on Rye Cracker – CKatt 2017

This jar of pickles is going with me to Fiesta Friday #172 food gathering of friends from all over the globe, led by the gracious Angie and cohosts this week are Jhuls @ The Not So Creative Cook and Su @ Su’s Healthy Living .

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

Have a beautiful day wherever you may be.

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pickled Cucumber Recipe = Easy as One, Two, Three

  1. Suchitra says:

    What a nice and easy recipe for making pickles! Thanks for sharing it here at FF!

  2. Jhuls says:

    I love pickled cucumbers, but it will be dangerous when placed in front of me. I love them so much that I might eat the whole jar alone. 😂 I bet this tastes amazing. Thanks for brining this with you at Fiesta Friday party. Have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

