Wish – International Women’s Day – Remember Women

Wish Happy International Women’s Day!

Happy International Women's Day

Enjoy a bouquet on International Women’s Day!

I always think about my friend Yvette, who introduced me to celebrating this day.  Yvette passed away at a young age from cancer.  She was one of the many remarkable women I think of on this day.

My wish is for women everywhere to be safe, have access to health care, education, clean, drinking water, a living wage equal to men and most of all to live in a world without wars.

“Seventy-five percent of the world’s work is done by women for no pay.”

Remembering all the women, who have gone before and may not be with us anymore, I share this poem to mark the loss of my mother.

Passing On

Your pale blue eyes closed and returned to the starry sky.

The beautiful songs we sang together will not be sung again on earth.

Your dance of life was danced on stage and in people’s hearts.

Smiling and beguiling you put on a brave face

For every loss or sorrow was borne with dignity and grace.

This last fight you shed only one tear and the words were softly spoken and so clear, “I can’t go. I have too much to do.”

You looked at me and began to sing “I’ll Be Seeing You” in muted tones as your voice was leaving too.

I touched your pale white brow and with a kiss said goodbye.

A daughter’s love I left behind holding only the sweet memories

Of the voice that was heaven’s gift;

That called my name and sang the Irish Lullaby.

CKatt March 2012

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

May you have a joyful day wherever you are.

 

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wish – International Women’s Day – Remember Women

  1. Charley says:

    Most beautiful words Replies from the heart exspressed Leaving a painting

  2. Pingback: Wish: Mary’s House Ephesus | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Wish – WoollyMuses

  4. I wish those things for women and men. 🙂 Love the flowers.

    janet

Leave a Reply

