Cookies and Chocolate = Baking the Standard – There Will Be Butter

Toll House Cookies – The Toll House Inn of Whitman, Massachusetts, was established in 1930 by Terry and Ruth Graves Wakefield. Toll House chocolate chip cookies are named after the inn. – Retrieved December 22, 2016

The Chocolate Chip Cookie  invention reads like a marketing guru’s dream product. Ruth decided to use chocolate in her cookie recipe. She broke the chocolate into bits. Since she used Nestle chocolate and the cookies were a hit, she contacted the company. Ruth Wakefield proposed a deal to Nestle and what a deal! She would give them the recipe to put on their packages of chocolate in exchange for a lifetime supply of chocolate. (Sweet deal. sorry, couldn’t resist) Nestle went on to make the chocolate chips that bakers know and love and the recipe has been printed on the package ever since. (See the package for the recipe.)

So what’s that got to do with me? I mentioned before that I was not taught how to cook. I taught myself as adult. One way I learned about cookies was to make ‘pretty much’ all the cookies in the Joy of Cooking. Yup. Did that in Northern California, where it rains a lot and there was not much to do…but that’s another story.

My first and only batch of chocolate chip cookies came some years later. I used Ruth’s recipe in order to impress a guy. “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.” was running through my mind as I was crushing heavily on this person.

The Chocolate Chip cookies were really delicious! (Thanks Ruth Graves Wakefield.)

My gesture did not get the desired response, when the person received them. In short, an old saying…is an old saying and not wisdom or truth.  Nonetheless, cookies are a good gift.

That is, how they say, the cookie crumbles. HA! This will be my second batch I ever made.

p1080076

Chocolate Chip Cookies CKatt 2016

 

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen!

Have a peaceful week wherever you are…

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookies and Chocolate = Baking the Standard – There Will Be Butter

  1. Haha! So funny, but this time I bet you didn’t give them away! Try my brownies – they got me a proposal, lol! 🙂 Your results may vary………..

Leave a Reply

