Breakfast McMenamins Edgefield – Troutdale Oregon

Breakfast At McManemins  Edgefield in Troutdale Oregon with my friends was a real treat. When I asked about this place, they said just wait until you see it. They said this a lot about the places we were visiting during my vacation. They did tell me it had been the poor house. Huh? I had visions of Dickensonian quarters squalid, ramshackle and depressing. That vision was wiped from my mind in short order.

It’s 74 acres of  farmland with the original restored buildings of the Poor House transformed into a vacation haven. For the visitor there are accommodations, food, spa, music, beer, and…well the Columbia River Gorge Scenic Area.

It is an enchanting place. Breakfast at the “Black Rabbit”Restaurant is special. When I think of breakfast, I think that my cooking is better than most places that I have had breakfast. (I think a lotta’ meself, you say.)

The service and the Eggs Florentine I had were exceptional. When I bit into the potato I exclaimed, (Yes, exclaimed.) “These potatoes taste like potatoes used to taste – from when I was a kid.”

“Well, we live right next door to Idaho.” was the reply.  It was a Proustian moment and appropriate, since I was visiting Alan, the friend who read the complete work of Proust “In Search of Lost Time”*.  Even buying potatoes at the farmers market in the upper midwest gives me a great product to eat, but not the flavor that brought my senses back to potatoes of my childhood. The sauce was the topping that brought it all together. DE-licious!

My friends had the steak omelet with those crazee tasty potatoes. During my visit they informed me that Oregon is becoming well known as a food center in the USA.

P1070041

Breakfast at McMinamens Edgefield  Troutdale, Oregon Eggs Forentine

 

“Historic Edgefield, built in 1911 as the county poor farm, is a destination resort in the Pacific Northwest that blends Oregon’s natural beauty with McMenamins’ signature whimsy: original buildings carefully restored with cozy interiors, gardens grown using organic methods, great food and drink, live entertainment and more.”  ~McMinamens .com

Where:

2126 S.W. Halsey St.
Troutdale, OR 97060

Local: (503) 669-8610
Elsewhere: (800) 669-8610
Contact Us

P1070050

Artichokes in McMinamens herb garden

P1070060

Columbia River Gorge

 

 

Many Thanks to my hosts including the lovable Che the Havanese dog.

Have a great 4th of July!

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

P1070007

*”In Search of Lost Time” Alan’s accomplishment  was previously posted with a recipe for the petit madeleine, which was the trigger for Marcel Proust’s sensory memory back to his childhood and the subsequent volumes he wrote. I don’t think I am any where near that kind of promethean writing feat because of the potato flashback. However, I did just begin reading the “Outlander” series. (Uh oh.)

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture, Farmer's Markets, Restaurants and Cafes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

