Arts and Crafts Fairs + Car Trouble

There was this little art and craft fair that I was prepping for that happened last weekend. Prepping took up a lot of my brain. It became an obsession. Meanwhile, everything else in my life was on the back burner, which was turned off.

Learning Curve time!  Missed my paints and brushes that languished in corners. The frame of mind that leads to painting is a special pull that is completely energizing and satisfying – so I have realized in this latest episode of commercializing art. “Branding” oneself, becoming a brand or whatever, is the way it is these days.

My good friend, a writer, commended me on trying to market my work. But I had not thought of this as marketing. (Duh.) He pointed out that he does Twitter and Linked In (barely) remarking that he prefers the good old literary review “that used to work” to promote a book.  Times have changed, for marketing is where it’s at…you need to be out there with Amazon and prove your numbers that you are in demand ‘well, a marketing guru will manufacture such for you. All flash, no fire. Everybody is a “brand.” ‘ was his remark.

This is the way world spins, this is the way the world spins, this is the way the whorls spin.

Aside from this marketing stuff…my car decided to have a fit. It bucked a few times and the engine light came on. I cut short my plans to go to a park and nursed the car home. Read the car manual and crossed my fingers that it was just a fluke of a gas cap not tight enough. That was last Sunday. Called the repair people and had the car hauled away on Tuesday. Friday went to pick up the car and as I left the repair place, the car died. It’s Tuesday and they still have my car. (I will pick it up today.)

Another paradigm shift “Technology is wonderful” try to do without it, when the Fair is the next day. As in the refrigerator breakdown, of a couple of weeks ago, once again the reality of a no car situation was at once weirdly freeing and confounding. I had to get everything for the art fair to the venue that evening. A kind friend helped me, at the last minute, for which I was truly grateful. Thanks Brian. Another friend helped me the next day with the rest of the Fair, including set up and display while hanging around as people came through the fair. Thanks Jan.

What would I do without friends?

IMG_0814

Nokomis Craft and Art Fair paintings and photos canvases  for CKatt

Have a great week!  Keep creating.

Thanks for stopping by my kitchen.

 

 

 

Next: The Farmer’s Market has started! Yay!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arts and Crafts Fairs + Car Trouble

  1. The Hook says:

    Friends rock, period.

  2. There is a cosmic rule somewhere that when we commit to our art, stuff will raise up and resist, a kind of test of our commitment to our creativity.
    A lovely slice of life post that many will relate to.
    So glad you made it to the show! 📮

Leave a Reply

