Frisian Horse Portrait Completed – A short horse story

This portrait is a gift for dear friends in Sweden.  When I visited them some years ago, I met him for the first time.  He was five years old at the time and had spent his days in the fields with other horses. He was halter trained, but he was not schooled in much else as I found out.  We were taking their two horses for a walk and had just started along a rutted dirt road with the older horse in the lead.  I was leading the Frisian who suddenly stopped to look back at horses that were in the nearby field.  He side stepped on my right foot. Slightly panicked, I tried to signal him to move to the side by placing my hands on his shoulder and gently pushing against him repeating “Side, Side”. (Ooops he doesn’t know English and he doesn’t know the gesture! And he is completely oblivious to me.)  I didn’t have boots on…and I tried pulling my foot out from under his hoof. Nothing; except I pulled my knee. He did lift his hoof finally and I was freed. Luckily my foot was in a rut.  His weight didn’t hurt my foot. We switched horses and started up another road towards the forest.  My knee was gimpy. Suddenly my horse shied from a forest animal and bolted sideways to the right. The lead was properly folded in my grasp and reeled out far enough for the mare to recover and stay on the lead. My friend and owner of the horses complemented me on the quick recovery. I was thankful and surprised, after the goofy mistake with the big Frisian.

This is his portrait: It’s 5″ x 7″ color pencil drawing. It feels finished. Now for framing!

Have a great day and thanks for stopping by the kitchen.

P1050462

Frisian Horse Portrait CKatt 2015

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Frisian Horse Portrait Completed – A short horse story

  1. bwms2013 says:

    Wow! I can’t believe you did this with pencil! So beautiful…

  2. Hello, Kunstkitchen! Beautiful horse portrait! 🙂 And I hope you don’t mind that I nominated you for a Liebster Award. Have a marvellous day!
    Here is the link: https://dreamymichaela.wordpress.com/2015/11/14/what-a-surprise-a-liebster-award/

  3. Alan Halm says:

    You are a fantastic artist. No exaggeration.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. The Hook says:

    Stunning work.

  5. So beautifully rendered. Wow

Leave a Reply

