Banana Bread Recipe = Olive Oil Instead of Butter – Yes You Can!

I have made this Banana Bread recipe many times with the requisite butter and none of the nuts or chocolate chips or red dye #40 Maraschino cherries . Here’s a variation using olive oil instead of butter or margarine. It worked really well. (The loaf of banana bread is fluffy on the tongue.) What a nice way to cut calories and still have a treat.

This recipe appeared once before on Kunstkitchen, after I had finished a larger pastel portrait drawing. Today I am sharing the recipe with changes and…an almost completed portrait of a my friends’ Friesian Horse. It is a long overdue gift.

The Banana Bread Recipe is from the Kitchen Kompanion; Recipes by the members of the Lansing Christian Reformed Church”, Lansing Michigan. Year Unknown.

Recipe for Banana Bread by Joyce Kragt

INGREDIENTS

½ cup shortening – substitute olive oil

1 Cup sugar – brown sugar was used

2 Well-beaten eggs

3 Mashed bananas

2 Cups sifted flour

1 Teaspoon of baking soda

½ Cup nutmeats – suggest pecans

½ Cup chocolate chips – I used only a teaspoon’s worth

½ Cup maraschino cherries – Substitution of dried cranberries

THE METHOD

Cream brown sugar and shortening, Add beaten eggs and mix. (This time I used a small whisk to blend the sugar and eggs to give it a little more air.) Then add bananas. Whisk again. Sift soda and flour. Save a little flour to mix with chocolate chips. Mix with my little whisk remaining ingredients to first mixture. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Notes: This was made with organic olive oil and eggs. Bananas were black on the outside and very mashable. Here is one of the few times when fresh bananas won’t do. Sifted the flour and soda together. Then added the pecans, cranberries and chocolate chips into the flour and mixed together before adding to the eggs and oil and sugar mixture.

Here’s what I added:

1½ Teaspoon Vietnamese Cinnamon – really I was just shaking out of the jar and not watching! I love the stuff. I read recently that is a good anti-inflammatory. Of course I used 1:1 for the olive oil substitution. The olive oil I used did not have a heavy scent that would change the flavor of the recipe.

This is a moist, tasty and an effortless banana bread recipe. As with all banana breads it tastes better right out of the oven, but even better the next day. Try it lightly toasted! Scrumptious!

Banana Bread 2015 (1)

I bring this Banana Bread Recipe to Fiesta Friday. The lovely hosts of Week# 79 are  Loretta@Safari of the Mind and Jess@Cooking Is My Sport and Angie of  The Novice Gardener who brings this party together each week. Many thanks for their food styling, recipes and good will.fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

Happy Friday!

Portrait of A Friesian Horse CKatt 2015 - 3rd Stage

Portrait of A Friesian Horse CKatt 2015 – 3rd Stage

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Banana Bread Recipe = Olive Oil Instead of Butter – Yes You Can!

  1. Hilda says:

    I will try this next time I want to make banana bread – which happens quite often. I can imagine the olive oil is delicious, and like you I can do without the chocolate chips entirely – just a few nuts will do fine.

  2. Loretta says:

    Welcome to Fiesta Friday and thanks for bringing your healthy version of Banana Bread to the party. I think all the ingredients are wonderful, I’ve used wholewheat flour in mine before too and it did taste real good. My daughter loves chocolate chips in her banana bread, so I always bake a couple of loaves and bring it to her when we visit. Happy weekend!

  3. Jess says:

    Oh wow, I’m from Lansing- small world lol

    I had no idea you could sub out butter for olive oil in banana bread. That’s awesome, thanks for sharing this recipe 🙂

    • kunstkitchen says:

      Ha! This recipe book could be from the 70s!
      I wonder if the church still exists? I did some reading before I decided to try olive oil. I thought of coconut oil, but one baker said it made the bread grainy.

Leave a Reply

