The Stomach wants what the stomach wants = Thin Crust Pizza Dough Recipe

Thin Crust Pizza almost ready for the oven! Katt 2015

Thin Crust Pizza almost ready for the oven! CKatt 2015

Category: hungry, in a hurry and wanting home made food.

Food.com has this simple no wait recipe for thin crust pizza dough. This is my latest experiment with making pizza with thin crust.  Craving pizza, which was one of the meals in my repertoire, inspired me to give this a try. For years I liked thick crust pizza. My preference has switched to thin crust.

http://www.food.com/recipe/super-crispy-thin-pizza-crust-290968 Retrieved April 3, 2015

Thin Crust Pizza Recipe adapted from Food.com

2-3 Servings

INGREDIENTS

  • 1⁄4 ounce active dry yeast
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon honey
  • 3⁄4 cup  warm water
  • 1 3⁄4 cups  flour
  • 1⁄2 teaspoon  kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons italian seasoning I used basil and oregano. The olives and goat cheese are salty – no extra needed.

METHOD

Prep all the toppings ahead of time: I used sweet onions, Mediterranean olives sliced in quarters, mushrooms sautéed in olive oil, two cloves of diced garlic, goat cheese and a thin layer of red sauce.

  1. Preheat pizza stone OVEN in oven at 500°F.
  2. Warm water for 20 seconds in microwave. Warm water in a pan on the stove. 
  3. Dissolve yeast and (sugar) honey in water; allow to rest for 8 minutes.
  4. In the meantime, combine flour, salt and Italian seasoning. I put the Italian seasoning on top of the pizza.
  5. Pour yeast over flour mixture and mix well with a heavy spoon.  I did this in reverse order – yeast mixture into the flour … eh
  6. Add 1 tbsp flour if needed. Didn’t need this
  7. Turn dough on to a floured surface and knead for 2 minutes.
  8. Dust more flour on surface if needed . Used minimal to prevent dough from drying out.
  9. Using a rolling pin, roll dough into a 12″ circle of even thickness (about 1/4″) flipping over to roll each side (don’t press too hard when rolling or dough may stick to surface). I rolled my dough on a piece of parchment paper. (Could just see me trying to get pizza dough onto the pan I used.)

Note: Marianne Esposito who has an Italian cooking show, “Ciao Italia” recently demonstrated rolling pizza dough – the trick is to only roll from the middle – this method worked great.  The dough doesn’t spring back.  It rolls beautifully.

  1. Cut off any excess edges to make a neat circle. I went for an oval – such a rebel.

Trying to work on other stuff and cooking experiments that aren’t always working. An experiment with clam spaghetti and goat cheese was okay, but I’ll need to revise before it appears here.

My stomach appreciated the thin crust and all the great flavors.

Serve with a salad and enjoy!

Thin Crust Pizza CKatt 2015

Thin Crust Pizza CKatt 2015

Working on another drawing; it is of a friends’ Friesian horse and trying to figure out my new computer is fun. (o boy.) One has to eat! Favorite food is pizza! What’s yours?

Phase I Friesian Horse Portrait Copyright CKatt 2015

Phase I Friesian Horse Portrait Copyright CKatt 2015

Today is Fiesta Friday #62 thanks to the creative leader Angie of the Novice Gardener and  the gracious hosts Jess @Cooking Is My Sport! And Prudy @Butter, Basil and Breadcrumbs! Update: Fiesta Friday is now found at  FiestaFriday.net to join Fiesta Friday Blog Party.

fiesta-friday-badge-button-i-party

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen, Yeast Bread and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Stomach wants what the stomach wants = Thin Crust Pizza Dough Recipe

  1. bwms2013 says:

    Just read your Goose Creek Public post and wondering whether you are wandering about south of the Mason Dixon line. I noticed the pizza because I currently have a very similar recipe sitting in my fridge. It purports to develop more complex flavors, but right now I’m wondering whether it is going to overflow the smallish bowl I put it in. Your method of rolling out on parchment is good. I slide a cookie sheet or pizza paddle under the parchment and unload parchment and pie onto heated pizza stone, then use the parchment to help drag the pizza back onto the paddle for removal. I’ll let you know if I notice improved flavor from the 3 day chill.

    • kunstkitchen says:

      I liked this pizza recipe because it works without having to let it rise twice or any of that time consuming stuff. Since I don’t have a pizza stone – my method was a work around. Let me know what happens, Barbara. The flavor was very good.

  2. Another gorgeous drawing! I’m afraid I’ve never really “mastered” thin crust but I might have to give it another go! Your pizza looks fantastic.

    The horse is just gorgeous, and I have never lost my girlhood crush on horses. Friesian are such a gorgeous breed.

    • kunstkitchen says:

      This was any easy short cut crust. i am going to use it again. Thanks. The horse is coming along. Friesians are very sweet. This one is no exception. Thanks for your comment. your omelet was really fun!

  3. Jess says:

    Thin crust pizza is slowly but surely winning me over after years of only eating hand tossed. Looks like yours came out really well, thanks for sharing at the Fiesta 🙂

Leave a Reply

