Part II High jacked ISP + laptop demise + Birds Nest wrecked my phone service

Well, if you read yesterday’s story about the high jacked ISP and the funeral for my 9 year old  laptop, you may be curious what the out come was with my phone company round of calls today.

After a few calls this morning, one where I was on hold on one phone and having a call on another phone (and no I am not somebody important) but seriously…no one answered from the phone company.  Anyone can tell you about phone roulette where you A) must figure out the right number to get you to the right person and B) identify every bit of information about yourself to someone who tells you their name is Kate, is a form of meditative practice or a straight track to the ER with apoplexy.  Attitude. Girl. Attitude.

Thus was the day begun, when I reached someone who was able to get rid of the order I didn’t need.  Yes.  Who then gave me to the tech people who ordered someone out to my house and they arrived around 2:30 and left 2 hours later…

Guess what? The two really nice guys, one a trainee and the other the lead, untangled the wires and rewired my set up, which was done ages ago under the auspices of another phone encounter.  Nicely done, there was still no Internet connection. So far not the modem, and not the phone as cause for terrible static and no internet connection.

The workers moved outside and after an hour and a half returned to tell me there was a bird’s nest, bees nest, and droppings eroded-wires that took much time to clean out and repair. They had called my phone, but I heard nothing.  With their trusty electronic tools testing through the modem and the wires outside – they got nothing.

More connection and reconnect then Viola!  It wasn’t the modem.  It was Nature and the Russians and …I didn’t really suffer without the internet, I felt like I had more space in my life and quiet.

To keep in line with my cooking theme here’s a link to Bird’s Nest Soup recipe, umm. It’s made with dried bird’s  spit. And “that’s the way it is.”

http://blog.cookingchanneltv.com/2013/05/02/what-is-birds-nest-soup/

Lesson learned: Don’t nest in the phone lines.

Kudos to the nice phone repair guys, who cleaned out the bird poo and repaired the wires. There is good service in Minneapolis.

Now back to the kitchen.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

