Maya The Chocolate Labrador Retriever’s Finished Portrait

It took a week to finish the colored pencil portrait of Maya pictured here.  It is a small piece 8″ by 10″ on Bristol paper.  This is a smooth surfaced paper which works well with layering the colors.

The array of colors used in Maya's portrait

The array of colors used in Maya’s portrait

Most of the time, I use paint or pastels to create my own pieces. Using the colored pencils is a fun exercise in the use of color.

Someone stopped by my blog and commented on the drawing of Maya.  There was surprise for me when I visited this person’s blog.  There was a long post about taking drawing classes. It turned out this writer wanted to draw and paint, but suffered from terrible anxiety when it came time to start a painting class.  There were many kind responses to this post. People shared many perspectives.

I studied painting, drawing, photography, lithography, etching and learned countless crafts to teach in school settings.  With each phase, there was what I called the first day of the lesson. All the unknowns would be revealed – the teacher, the students, the lessons.  I wanted to learn.

In my first figure drawing class in college, my professor told me that I drew “like a barbarian”.  As I looked at the drawing he was looking at I realized he was correct.  It took two years of drawing, for four days a week, to learn to draw with expressive lines that I could control.

After studying to be an art teacher and watching students evolve in art classes, I came to believe two very important things: First that anyone who wants to can learn to make art. Second: all it takes is the desire and discipline to learn with an open beginner’s mind.  That means (to me) Be there to try things out and don’t be afraid to fail.  Every learning in life takes practice.

When I learned how to make lithographic prints, I had one of the top lithographers in the country as a teacher. He was very strict. You cannot fudge a process like lithography, which takes many steps before you have a completed print.  In the beginning of my two years of practicing this technique, I made every mistake in the book.  It was a slow process of learning, that taught me the value of learning from my mistakes. The perspective I gained gave me a sense of humor about being human and not giving up.

This attitude has kept me going with my cooking experiments, this blog and anything new that’s worth learning.  I tell myself , “Just show up and see what comes to you.” That’s life.

Many thanks to the people who stop by my kitchen! You keep me inspired.

Four Stages of the portrait process of the pencil drawing of Maya the labrador Retriever

First Stage of pencil portrait of Maya © Ckatt 2-18-15

First Stage of Pencil Portrait of Maya © Ckatt 2-18-15

Second Stage of Maya's Portrait 2-19-2015

Second Stage of Maya’s Portrait 2-19-2015

Third Stage of Maya's Portrait 2-21-2015

Third Stage of Maya’s Portrait 2-21-2015

Last Stage of Maya the Chocolate Labrador Retriever's portrait by CKatt 2015

Last Stage of Maya the Chocolate Labrador Retriever’s portrait by CKatt 2015

Keep on keeping on…woof woof!

Fiesta Friday

Fiesta Friday

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Maya The Chocolate Labrador Retriever’s Finished Portrait

  1. Your finished portrait really brings out her eyes – amazing! Thanks for showing us the different stages to achieve your final results. Lovely 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    What a beautiful picture – I am in awe over your artwork!

  3. Nancy says:

    My, you are talented! Beautiful. 🙂

  4. Susan says:

    I just love my portrait of Maya. She is a very special girl.
    Thank You
    Catherine

  5. I love the portrait, and am going to have to keep you in mind if I ever decide to have Gibson’s done…if you take commissions! 🙂 You’ve captured Maya to a T! Her personality really shines through.

  6. Liz says:

    Omg I thought it was a real photograph. You did this? I must say you’re very talented. I wish I could draw!

  7. Thats beautiful!! Maya is a very pretty girl and her portrait is lovely.

Leave a Reply

