Dessert It Is – Old Standby Brownie Recipe for Fiesta Friday Celebration

The Old Standby Brownie Recipe for Fiesta Friday

I spoiled myself last night after making the main dish for the Fiesta Friday celebration of Broccolini, Sausage, Beans with clams. I craved this brownie and made it in literally minutes.

This recipe for brownies is the only one I had for many years. It is economical to make. Besides it is a quick recipe that is very forgiving.

For Fiesta Friday I dressed it up with some chocolate chips and raspberries with a side of raspberry jam sauce. (Gotta’ a theme going lately.)

This brownie recipe is from page 87 of the “Kitchen Kompanion: Recipes by Members of the Lansing Michigan Reformed Church”; Ladies Christian Fellowship. I have had this book since 1985, when I found it thrown out! It was my first church ladies cookbook, which has served me well.

Old Standby Brownie Tradition January 2015 © CKatt

Old Standby Brownie Tradition January 2015 © CKatt

 

Brownies

Ingredients

1 cup of sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa

2 eggs

½ cup of melted butter or oleo (margarine)

¾ cup sifted flour

½ cup of chopped nuts

1 teaspoon of vanilla

Method

Cream sugar, cocoa and butter together. Add eggs and vanilla. Then add sifted flour and nuts – mix well. Bake in a 350-degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes.

Notes: I used baker’s sugar and substituted about ¼ of the white sugar with brown sugar. Instead of nuts, I used maybe ¼ cup of dark chocolate pieces, 

Grease an 8”x8” square pan and pour the batter into it. Tap bubbles out gently like you would for a cake.

These brownies are served slightly warm and could be even better with some ice cream or raspberries.

Enjoy!

Fiesta Friday

Fiesta Friday

This is dedicated to all the folks who make Fiesta Friday the place to be! Nancy of Feasting with Friends & Selma of Selma’s Table

Angie of https://thenovicegardener.wordpress.com is our fearless leader and serves as an inspiration.  Part 2 of the Fiesta Friday Anniversary Block Party Celebrations

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dessert It Is – Old Standby Brownie Recipe for Fiesta Friday Celebration

  1. simply damn delicious brownies!!!

  2. thebrookcook says:

    It is so hard to beat a classic tried & true recipe like this one- they look perfect!! mmmm

  3. Nancy says:

    My eyes opened a little wider when I spotted your nod to Michigan via the cookbook! These brownies look fabulous…the recipe is proof positive that homemade brownies are not difficult to make, and sooo much better than boxed mixes. Love the addition of raspberries! Delicious. 😛 Thanks for sharing your recipe with everyone celebrating the big Fiesta Friday anniversary!

  4. milkandbun says:

    That looks nice and tasty! Happy FF!

  5. Jhuls says:

    I would eat any brownies in any form. 😀 It looks like you’ve got to make another batch of this as I am going to devour everything here. 😛

    • kunstkitchen says:

      My food quest was to find the best brownie in the world, which in found in a bakery in….Paris! I keep trying out new recipes and brownies that I find in shops. Dangerous pursuit! This recipe is easy to devour! Ha!

  6. Wanda says:

    Sounds delish – but I would have left the nuts in (thinking pecans, yes!). Can’t help my southern roots.
    ~W

  7. Pingback: First Fiesta Friday Anniversary (Part 2) | The Novice Gardener

  8. I have kind of a thing for church book cookbooks, although there are often so many recipes it’s overwhelming to pick one! 🙂 I imagine all the ladies discussing and vying for a spot, turning in all their best recipes!

Leave a Reply

