Berry Pie Recipe = How To Beat April Chill – It is Spring!

This is a reblog from 2012 in the early spring for Berry Pie Recipe. I recently had a piece of berry pie at the local Currans restaurant in Minneapolis. It was delicious. Making this recipe was easy enough for never having made it before at the time.

Kunstkitchen's Blog

I went to the farmers’ market very early last Saturday and there were a very few sellers at 7:00 a.m.  It was cold enough that my ears were really hurting by the time I left.  Bought some more of the great early spinach. Came home, made a spinach, onion and Swiss cheese omelet.  Then went to work on the following Berry Pie recipe that I adapted for a pie with blueberries, strawberries and blackberries from a fun food blog:

April Blossoms

An-Apple-A-Day.

http://kelseysappleaday.blogspot.com/search?q=blackberry+pie  Retrieved April 21, 2012

Ingredients:

Pie pastry for a 9” pan**

Berry Pie

4 c. fresh blackberries

2 c. fresh blueberries

3/4 c. granulated sugar

3 TBSP cornstarch*

1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1 TBSP tapioca

2 TBSP lemon juice

Pinch of salt

1 egg, lightly whisked

Turbinado sugar, if desired*

Berry Pie with Egg Wash

Directions:

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees Farenheit.

2.  Combine blackberries…

View original post 774 more words

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Berry Pie Recipe = How To Beat April Chill – It is Spring!

  1. Jhuls says:

    I never tried baking berry pie. I don’t even know why. 😀 This pie sounds good to me and I think you inspire me to give berry pie a try. Thank you for sharing and come back next week – it’s gonna be a big party: https://thenovicegardener.wordpress.com/2015/01/17/fiesta-friday-anniversary/

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #51 | The Novice Gardener

  3. Makes me think of Spring and all the berries at the Farmers Market. Love pie!

  4. I know it is not spring in Minnesota nor in Michigan. Thanks for a great pie recipe for the party goers at Angie’s party 🙂

    • kunstkitchen says:

      Spring in my mind today. Berries are so healthy and yummy. I have used them a lot this winter to stay cheery! Have a unfrozen weekend in Michigan. We are having a heat wave today into the 30s for temps!

Leave a Reply

