Pretzel Chocolate and Butterscotch Chip Cookies = Have Fun Holiday Baking

My kitchen smells like the sugarplum fairies have taken over the baking.  My first taste of Chocolate Butterscotch Pretzel cookies hooked me. Someone made them for a fundraiser that I attended several years ago.  I looked up different recipes and there are many to choose from on line.  This recipe resonated as it was well organized (Really important!) Easy to follow and had the comment: “They were such a hit in our house that my kids couldn’t even let me take a photo of them without grabbing another.”

Try this Chocolate Butterscotch Pretzel Chip Cookie recipe and enjoy!

Kitchen Note: My oven runs hot and I could have taken them out in less than 25 minutes. My results were a hard cookie once they cooled. Dunkers… maybe too much sugar? P.S. I checked more recipes and concluded that the minutes for a small cookie are more like 10-14 minutes in the oven.  Not 20 minutes – that for giant cookies.  Tried eating one this morning – simple taste test – ahem, they taste really good even if they are not a soft cookie. Next time better.

Prep for Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

Prep for Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

This recipe was taken from MakeBetterFood.com, which was originally posted on December 5, 2012.

Batter for  Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

Batter for Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

I am making them for holiday gifts. To that end, I made mine pretty small to have enough. The cookie holds up well. Next time I might up the amount of pretzels in the recipe just a wee bit. Over all the cookies have the sweet and salty flavor that makes me want to get a big glass of moo juice or decaf coffee to accompany them on my way to sugarplum fairyland.

Dough for  Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

Dough for Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

This link will take you to the recipe:

http://www.makebetterfood.com/recipes/pretzel-chocolate-chip-cookies/ Retrieved December 23, 2014.

The finished  Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

The finished Chocolate Chip, Butterscotch and Pretzel Cookies 12-23-14 © CKatt

Have a lovely holiday and remember that baking always says love. 

The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy from Fantasia http://youtu.be/8At8zfh_o3E Retrieved December 23, 2014.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Food Humor, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

