Pulled Venison with Wild Grape Ketchup

Hilda from Along The Grape Vine contributed this wild recipe for venison with her wild grape ketchup. A gardener and a forager, her imaginative cooking continues to inspire me to be more bold with my cooking.

Along the Grapevine

At this time of year, our hunter friends often regale us with a good supply of venison –  a real treat. I have learned how to cook it through experiment. As all game, it can be tough and needs some special care and attention, especially if it is not a young animal.  I  learned that an acidic marinade of wild fruit and berries, sometimes beer or wine is what it really needs as a tenderiser. So when I decided to try a pulled venison and found no suitable recipe on-line, I used my wild grape ketchup I made in the summer. As it is already rich in flavour, I added only some juniper berries as a spice along with garlic and onion. My own junipers are buried in snow, so for the time being cannot experiment with them. I used some commercial ones which you can find in most good…

View original post 258 more words

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pulled Venison with Wild Grape Ketchup

  1. Hilda says:

    So glad you liked this post. I have another venison recipe to post soon with my latest haul. It is very encouraging to know that some out there in the blogosphere are interested in this type of cooking.

Leave a Reply

