Scorpion Peppers at the Minneapolis Farmers Market + A Food Culture Reader “Anything That Moves”

Sunday’s trip to the Lyndale Farmers’ Market with my friend Richard netted some broccoli, butternut squash, and kale. It was time for squash and green vegetables for me.

The harvest is rich and plentiful at this time of year. There are lots of lovely heritage tomatoes to be had, along with tiny colorful potatoes, squash and peppers of all rank of heat. Richard purchased one Scorpion pepper. It was about the size of an apricot, but from there, the comparison ended. Its shape was more like a twisted red-orange sculptural piece. He exclaimed, “This is the first time that I have ever seen a Scorpion pepper in the farmers’ market.” Then he laughed heartily. He purchased just the one.

Scorpion Chili Peppers

Scorpion Chili Peppers

www.produceclerks.com/2013/05/peppers-overview.html

Retrieved September 30, 2014 from produceclerks.com

The pointed end of the pepper suggests a scorpion’s tail, thus the name Scorpion pepper. A little reading revealed the pepper originates from Moruga in Trinidad and Tobago. It was for three years and until recently considered to be the hottest (heat-wise) pepper in the world until it was recently surpassed by a hybrid call the Carolina Reaper. The Trinidad Moruga Scorpion Pepper was measured by New Mexico University to have “ a mean heat of more than 1.2 million Scoville heat units (SHUs) and individual plants with a heat of more than 2 million SHUs.[1] ” according to Wikipedia.

That explained, I have no idea what Richard intended to do with the Scorpion Pepper. At any rate, writing about exotic peppers brings me to the subject of the book I am reading “Anything That Moves: Renegade Chefs, Fearless Eaters, and the Making of a New American Food Culture.” When I first started reading the book, I was startled and appalled at the food trends that are covered. But hey, Several years ago, on Mother’s Day in San Francisco, I was looking for a restaurant the could take a large group of people and walked into a restaurant that, as it turned out, served organ meats as their specialty. I opted for another venue and it was terrific! (Bacco Restorante San Francisco )

A book suggestion about food: 

Exotic, weird and crazy food for the food fanciers and the daring chefs and providers who take people on food trips are described very well in “Anything That Moves”. It’s by Dana Goodyear.  Ms. Goodyear fearlessly (Almost) guides the reader through the endless palate of the most sought after food oddities with some historical characters thrown in the mix to create a colorful and fascinating story of the quest of quests to satisfy the extreme desires for “the new and different” in food. (Thanks to Bill for the book.)

This book will take you from the story of a 13-year old boy mushroom importer to eating live octopus tentacles. (Sometimes I am revolted.) It’s well worth reading not just for the shock value, but also for the content. Following Ms. Goodyear’s experience in the trending food world is a revelation.  It’s a view from the inside of the many sides of the best and the weirdest developments in food around the US of A.

Of late, my food experiments are few and far between as my priorities are shifting.  Learning about food and cooking has fascinated me for the last four years.  Wordpress.com recently congratulated me on four years of blogging.  After the 200th post, I promised myself I would write about how and why I started this blog in 2010.

In 2008, I was injured in an accident that changed my life. I was hit in the head at work. From one day to the next, I was a different person, with a different life. In 2006, I had finished a master’s degree in Interdisciplinary Studies in a program that had excellent teachers, who inspired and helped me hone my writing. That is gone. Writing this blog has helped my recovery enormously. (Sabina Posthumus who had suggested to Richard that he write a food blog also inspired me to write.) And all my friends near and far who contribute their expertise and recipes are the cornerstone of my writing.

During the first two years after my accident, there were very good professional people who started me on the road to recovery.  This blog has anchored me and connected me with people who are terrific inspirations to me. I am grateful to all my supporters and readers!  Also the members of the BIG (Brain Injury Group) support group, who teach me to be who I am today are a mainstay of love and understanding. My worldview is of a beginner.

My blog still has odd mistakes that my brain doesn’t see sometimes until months later! But I am undaunted. Awkward syntax and spelling errors aside (which someone complained about in a comment to me) I continue.

The Atlantic Ocean of the New England Coast copyright CKatt 2014

The Atlantic Ocean of the New England Coast copyright CKatt 2014

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Farmer's Markets, Food Humor, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

