Strawberry Sour Cream Snack Cake Recipe = Summer Is Here Overnight!

The Recipe for Strawberry Sour Cream Cake is adapted from a baker I follow, who comes up with some really tasty treats.

By foodlikecake 

This cake appeared under the heading of Strawberry Buttermilk Cake, which drew my interest immediately. I read the ingredients only to realize there was no buttermilk in the cake. Hmmm? Sent a note to the contributor with the question about the buttermilk and I received the answer. “Brain F*art” on the cook’s part. (Okay then, I’ll try this one, anyways!)

I would have reblogged the recipe, if I hadn’t felt a little unsure of what I was doing following the directions.  I did a step-by-step replay to test the recipe.  My resolution did not waiver to try yet another cake recipe that the writer shared as a “rustic cake” as it has no frosting.  It’s baked in an 8” X 8” pan.  Instead of a double layer cake (which lately seems to be beyond my skill) this cake is a one-pan wonder. Woo Hoo!

 Strawberry Sour Cream Snack Cake Recipe

Ingredients

2 cups strawberries, leaves removed and chopped (450 gr)

1/2 cup granulated sugar (100 gr)

1 teaspoon lemon juice (5ml)

♣ ♣ ♣ 

1½ cups cake flour (210 gr)

1 rounded cup granulated sugar (200 gr)

2 teaspoons baking powder (14 gr)

½ teaspoon salt (4gr)

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, chopped (105 gr)

♣ ♣ 

1/3 cup whole milk (80 ml)

2.5 ounces large egg whites (about 2 and 1/2 egg whites)

½ large whole egg

1 teaspoon vanilla (5ml)

♣ ♣ ♣ 

1/3 cup sour cream (86 gr)

♣ ♣ 

The Method

Take butter out of the freezer ahead of time to soften. (I keep butter in the freezer.)

Butter can be chilled, but not hard.  Take eggs out of the fridge.

Grease an 8”x 8” pan and set aside.

Following that I rinsed one 16-ounce (454 grams) package of strawberries, which equaled two cups. Drained the strawberries, removed the leaves and cut up into a small bowl.  Then added the ½ cup of sugar and the teaspoon of lemon.  Mixed all together. Set aside.  I used a wedge of fresh lemon and squeezed what I thought was a teaspoon.

Strawberries with Sugar and Lemon Juice copyright CKatt 2014

Strawberries with Sugar and Lemon Juice copyright CKatt 2014

Next I measured all the dry ingredients into a sieve that I place in a bowl and sieved that into the bowl; contrary to the recommendation to put the dry ingredients into a medium bowl and use an electric mixer to whiz it together. (My mixer has two speeds – fast or very fast)

Eggs Milk & Vanilla Mixture copyright CKatt 2014

Eggs Milk & Vanilla Mixture copyright CKatt 2014

In a small bowl, placed the egg whites, the ½ whole egg, added the milk and vanilla mixed with the electric mixer briefly to blend, instead of whisking it.

For my next trick, I cubed the butter, which was still a bit cold to blend with an electric mixer. (I was game for that, but the dry ingredients flew around and out of the bowl.) I opted to add the butter with my hands mixing it in to a fine crumb.  It was easier for me that way.

Butter Massaged into Flour Copyright CKatt 2014

Butter Massaged into Flour Copyright CKatt 2014

 

Then I measured 1/3 cup (86 grams) of sour cream for the next step.

 

Okay good.  Next, with the electric mixer add the milk, eggs, and vanilla mixture to the dry ingredients blending for 90 seconds on medium speed.  The batter looked a little lumpy. (Have no fear. The sour cream is here.  Recommendation: Nancy’s Organic sour cream from Eugene, Oregon, which is available at the co-ops.)

Nancy's Organic Sour Cream copyright CKatt 2014

Nancy’s Organic Sour Cream copyright CKatt 2014

Add the sour cream to the batter and mix for 50 seconds. I used a rubber spatula as I mixed to make sure everything folded together. The batter took on a warm rich sheen.

I spread it into the greased square pan. Drained the syrup from the strawberries and distributed them with a spoon on the top of the cake.

Strawberry Sour Cream Cake Batter copyright CKatt 2014

Strawberry Sour Cream Cake Batter copyright CKatt 2014

Placed in the oven for 50-60 minutes. (My oven must be running too hot.) I took the cake out at 50 minutes. It looks a little dark on the top edges.

Strawberry Sour Cream Cake copyright CKatt 2014

Strawberry Sour Cream Cake copyright CKatt 2014

Then I took it to Sunday dinner. Since summer has really arrived in Minnesota, Bill made another wonderful meal that everyone enjoyed and appreciated, of ham roasted on the grill, with a huge salad, corn on the cob, Italian style dinner rolls and Strawberry Sour Cream Snack Cake served with vanilla ice cream.

Comments were, “This cake is delicious,” said Louis. Chris added, “This cake is really good. Will you make me one?” I thought about it, “Yes.” It was well worth the effort.

Framily approved! I am very grateful. This Strawberry Sour Cream Cake  is easy to make.

Weights and measures conversion from this handy site is what I used to add the metric amounts.  Please check here  for I am metrically deficient.

http://cafefernando.com/conversion-tables/ Retrieved May 26, 2014.

 

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

