“A Cakeable Offense” Redux = Dump Cake – “Patty Cake Patty Cake, Baker’s Man”

According to the person, who asked me for a recipe, a “cakeable offense” means bringing a cake to work to celebrate when one has something to celebrate. The cake was a childhood memory of the Swedish neighbor who had a cake recipe that was made with vinegar, baking soda and oil, known as a Dump Cake.  (Ah those wonderful Swedish neighbors, I had the Andersons, who made a huge difference in my life.  They introduced me to the delectable Swedish meatball, Swedish Limpa bread, homemade krullers and Spritz cookies, kid’s coffee- coffee, with mostly milk, and last, but not least playing gin rummy. One little kid and 3 adults playing cards on a Saturday’s eve leaves me with great memories.) I intend to make this for the next-door neighbor in gratitude for shoveling the snow on the walks and to my front door. (Also thanks to a friend for pointing out my original spelling error of ‘next store’, instead of next-door.)

NOTES: My search turned up a site with a recipe that seemed do-able. The recipe was amusing in its intricate detail and I thought worth quoting. (I have never seen such attention to detail before on a cooking site.)

 However, when I posted the recipe with quotation marks and gave full credit to the site in the beginning of this opus, the site owner took umbrage and asked me to take it down. Done and done. (Sigh, I believe, that cooks of any gender are here to keep the good will going and share. I am trying to learn how to cook.  I get it.  People were taking my photos off my posts and not linking back to me. That’s a definite no-no. Linking back is always a courtesy, a compliment and in my mind, a legal obligation.)

Dump Cake Blended Dry  Ingredients © CKatt

Dump Cake Blended Dry Ingredients © CKatt

Suffice to say, that I am making my “mea culpas” and moving on…I did make the Dump Cake and I had some amateur night problems with it.  The batter was too stiff and not pour-able due to a little too much flour – my mistake.  I did add water tablespoon by tablespoon.  My concern was that if I added too much water, it would be too runny. (Like I know about cakes?) In addition there was a frosting recipe that I followed to the letter.  My results were not a frosting that spread. It was pour-able.  The cake looked like a chocolate volcano. (As suggested, the left over frosting did make a nice little bit of fudge for after Sunday dinner. I poured it into a small plastic container, let it set up and put it in the fridge for about an hour before cutting it up to serve. ) 

Dump Cake with Oil, Apple Cider Vinegar, and Vanilla © CKatt

Dump Cake with Oil, Apple Cider Vinegar, and Vanilla © CKatt

Below are two versions of the Dump Cake Recipe for a flat sheet-cake taken from Cooks.com.  A more experienced baker would know whether the batter would bake in 2 round pans. On this knowledge, I cannot advise, lest someone blame me for a bad outcome.  Plus, I still have no idea what it tasted like.  Caveat Imperator! 

Dump Cake Blended Ingredients © CKatt

Dump Cake Blended Ingredients © CKatt

 [Today’s temps on waking -14 F with a wind chill – Feels like -30 below zer0 F. There’s a “cakeable offense!”  Let’s turn on the stove. This was on  March 2, 2014]

End Notes: I gave the cake to the neighbor and have not heard back on the taste test results, but it did smell really good.  Looked good enough to eat and would be a fine contribution for any “Cakeable Offense”, or Sunday dinner, or you name it. Who knew you could make a cake without eggs? “Dump Cake” is an easy cake to make.

Dump Cake and Buttered Pan © Ckatt

Dump Cake and Buttered Pan © CKatt

CHOCOLATE DUMP CAKE from COOKS.COM

http://www.cooks.com/recipe/aj7ai5dy/chocolate-dump-cake.html Retrieved March 8, 2014 Please note there is no authors name for attribution.

INGREDIENTS

3 c. flour

6 tbsp. cocoa

2 c. sugar   (substituted light brown sugar)

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. vanilla

2 tbsp. vinegar (substituted apple cider vinegar)

3/4 c. oil

2 c. water  (used cold water)

Baked Dump Cake © Ckatt

Baked Dump Cake © CKatt

Sift flour, cocoa, sugar and baking soda together 2 times. Make 3 holes and dump in vanilla, vinegar and oil into holes. Mix well, gradually pour water into mixture and pour into greased 13 x 9 baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes.

NO EGG CHOCOLATE CAKE

FROM COOKS.COM http://www.cooks.com/rec/doc/prt/0,1825,157161-230196,00.html Retrieved March 8, 2014.

3 c. flour

6 tbsp. cocoa

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

Dump Cake 2 Layers © CKatt

Dump Cake 2 Layers © CKatt

2 c. sugar

2 tbsp. vinegar

2 tsp. vanilla

2/3 c. oil

2 c. lukewarm water

Sift dry ingredients together. Put in large bowl. Indent 3 holes in dry ingredients. In first hole pour 2 tablespoons vinegar. In the second hole pour 2 teaspoons vanilla. In third hole pour 2/3 cups oil. Over the entire top pour 2 cups lukewarm water. Whip with wire whisk until smooth. Pour into greased and floured 9″x13″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

FROSTING: Whip 1/2 stick butter with 2 cups sifted powdered sugar and 2 tablespoons cocoa with 1 heaping tablespoon sour cream and 3 to 4 tablespoons hot coffee. (Ho ho, this is not the recipe I used and I don’t know if you can make fudge from it. Does read like a really good recipe.)

Thank you, dear reader, for your comments and likes!

PS: the cake was “good”, but the frosting was too gritty. (Comments from my kind neighbor.) I added brown sugar…maybe that was not a good idea?

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

