“Speak To Your Vegetables…” and Bread Star Rising Baker

The continued story of a food blogger who has high cholesterol. (UGH!)  Speaking of vegetables. I love them.

Well, it is late Saturday night and my enthusiasm for cooking is more in the imaginary realm than reality.  Why oh why?  I made a commitment to return to a vegetarian diet.  (There, there, dear, you’ll survive.)  It’s not that I am such a big meat eater, nay, not that.  However, I can’t look at butter, cream or cheese or cream cheese (“Mein Gott!”.  She says in a stage whisper. “Shush, Don’t tell anyone, but I ate eggs two days in a row and bought cheese.”) Forget eggs!

Soup is a good thing. Luckily I have found this lentil mixture called Old World Mix of various lentils, split peas and rice at the co-op.  I cook that up and add many India spices then add that to a soup base – mirepoix – a brew for the health conscious – just pulse legumes and veg.  Hallelujah. Oh, I have good vegetarian cook books, which I should peer into for an amusing trip down memory lane.  Soon.  In days gone by I was a “lacto ovo” (A wha’?) vegetarian = milk products and eggs allowed.

Warning! Food Paradigm shift causes moodiness and candy cravings.  Where’s the dried fruit and nuts?

Well, this vegetarian regime will show whether a diet change will bring down my bad cholesterol numberssssss, as one test subject.  Blood tests scheduled for November.

In the meantime, I can console myself with Bread Star Rising‘s breads made in the Powderhorn Neighborhood by Margaret Chamberlain.  Margaret sells at the Midtown Market on Tuesdays Lake and Chicago and some Saturdays at the Lake Street Market across from the “Y”.  Even with no butter allowed, I enjoy a plain slice of Bread Star Rising’s rye bread.

I haven’t had bread this good in years.  She is a true artisan with breads.   Check out  http://breadstarrising.com/ retrieved September 14, 2013. Margaret takes orders for bread.

Now for a bowl of soup.  Happy Fall harvest.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Bread, Food Humor, Slow food and art in the kitchen, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

