Brooch bouquets – Why there are no recipes to share

Food? Recipes? Who has time? May Wedding here we come!

The impending nuptials [Noun, 1. nuptials – the social event at which the ceremony of marriage is performed. wedding, wedding ceremony · ceremonial, ceremonial occasion 

… of 2 dear friends has had my total attention for a few weeks.  I offered to make a brooch bouquet.  At the time, I only had a vague idea what a “brooch bouquet” is, when I offered to make one from the assortment of brooches that the bride-to-be had wired up.  It is a very sentimental and trending wedding bouquet with or without flowers.

After some attempts to find out a how to make brooch bouquets, I discovered that everyone,  that is the DIY bride had a different approach and solution – a lot like cooks do.  None the wiser for my research, bravely forging on without a clear methodology – no recipe – the brooch bouquet became an exercise in patience.  More frantic research as time went on, because the brooches were not cooperating by staying in place as I worked the pieces in my hand, advised that two people were needed to finish the bouquet.  (It was a revelation to see that Etsy sellers were charging anywhere from 300 to 900 dollars for one of these creations. YIKES!)

Grrrrr, after the tenth attempt to get the bouquet working, a solution arose. My dear friend, Jan came to my rescue today and we put together the bouquet.  We wired some more brooches and Jan picked brooches and decided where to add them. (Two creative minds are better than one.)

The bride-to-be supplied her grandmothers’ brooches. She has lots of sentimental attachment to them.  She thinks the bouquet is beautiful.  Me too, but then …I love a challenge.

Brooch Bouquet

Brooch Bouquet

Darn good thing that I did not offer to make a wedding cake!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Art and Architecture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

