Sara Jane’s Bakery in Northeast Minneapolis = Donuts and Limpa Bread!

Overheard in passing in the hall at a Northeast school from one male teacher to another.

“Those were really good donuts you brought today.”

“ Sarah Jane’s Bakery at 29th and Johnston.”

Limpa bread and donuts from Sarah Jane's Bakery in Minneapolis Minnesota

Limpa bread and donuts from Sarah Jane’s Bakery in Minneapolis Minnesota

It was quittin’ time when I was suddenly possessed with the image of a bakery I had not tried and donuts, I headed to my car and did the old think, “Should I or shouldn’t I?”  Not to argue with myself, I turned the car toward Johnston and hung a right turn.  In a matter of minutes, I was squinting from the glorious sun that made an appearance. Feeling very up, I immediately found a parking space only steps away from Sara Jane’s Bakery.  It is nestled into a row of shops.  The yellow and black letter sign looks “vintage”.  When I walked in I was immediately greeted by a very friendly young woman, who, as it turned out, is also a cake decorator.  I was bee-lining for the donuts.  All else was a blur.

How can I help you? I looked at the friendly counter person and said, “I just heard that Sara Jane’s has really good donuts.”  I think I had a slightly crazed look in my eyes because she reached into the case and gave me a sample of a donut hole, covered in some crazy crispy cinnominy concoction that I bit into unhesitatingly, called cake crunch . “That’s good.”

It’s a weakness; donuts for me are real “oh I know this is bad for me food, but who the heck cares?” (Me and Homer Simpson)

I chose a cake donut with coconut and an apple fritter to see if it’s as good as a Dutch Appelflappen.  The temptation stopped there.  I turned toward the register and looked at the breads. There was a pumpernickel label. “Oh, you make pumpernickel.” (Duh, oh queen of the obvious.)  Sitting right next to it was the gold.  A Sign – Limpa, with one loaf sitting there. “You make Limpa,” I slightly gasped. “Nobody makes Limpa.  I have made it and it’s really hard to make.”

“We’re kind of a more old style bakery.” She smiled.

“How much is the Limpa?”  I asked knowing I’d buy it even if it was a ridiculous price.  She handed me the bread.  I lifted it up and smelled those divine smells of my youth.  (Ah, nostalgia)  I paid for my treats and we exchanged blog addresses.

Such a great bakery!  It’s open weekdays from 5:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.  Saturday 5:00 a.m. to 3:00p.m. If you are a member of the insomniac squad…and the thought of a donut gets you going, I recommend Sarah Jane’s Bakery.

The Limpa bread melted in my mouth. No butter needed.

http://sarahjanesbakery.com/

Now to check out Brianna’s Baking blog.

Ah, the snow has arrived no wonder I am accumulating carbs!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Bread, Doughnuts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

