Minnesota State Fair 2012 Food – Walleye Cakes and Ice Cream

The State fair is over and kids are back in school.  There were record numbers of visitors but not as many as in 2009, which had an all time high attendance.  I went 2xs and enjoyed it both times.  Good eats to try were the Giggles food stand’s walleye cakes or the foot-long walleye sandwich washed down with a brew.  They are known for their walleye salad on a roll. It looked very temping!

On both days, I walked until I couldn’t walk anymore. Stopped to rest and people watched for a spell. Then made sure I tried some of the ice cream from the dairy building that I saw so many people walking around with.  That was really fun.  Creamy white stuff with real caramel sauce is what I had the first day– oh yum!  Then I tried the chocolate cone and made it through the line just before closing!  Yum xs 2!  (Good thing I walked for eight hours the second day.  Well, almost eight hours.  Don’t forget the birch beer.)

Night Moves at the Minnesota State Fair

In the food building, I wanted to try Harry Singh’s Caribbean dishes, but I can get it at his restaurant on Nicollet Ave Eat Street. http://www.harrysinghs.com/  Some like it hot food, which is not like anything you’d find in Minnesota – but maybe on an island vacation, because its authentic Caribbean fare.

Dusk at the Fair – The Wheel

Back to reality.  I want to keep the state fair mood and prepare for autumn weather.  Fall will be early this year due the dry summer. The leaves are changing colors early.  Apple crops were smaller for the same reason, but there is an apple seller on Nicollet Mall downtown Mpls who has a great crop of apples. (Hmmm. It’s time to use some of those apples and make some apfel streudel, ja!)

A trip to the orchards would be fun!  Apple picking here I come.

Wild Ride at the Fair

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Restaurants and Cafes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

