Rain Snow = Pizza Recipe made with Trader Joe’s Dough

More freaky weather continued, in the last two weeks, in the great Northland.  To keep myself amused with food, I made pizza, cake, mushroom soup (looks like melted tires, but tastes fine) and various standby dishes of rice and vegetables.

This is about the pizza – America’s favorite food.  I bought pre-made dough (Yeah, it’s another experiment.) from Trader Joe’s.  It comes in a plastic bag. (What?) I cut the bag off and kept the baking instructions.  The dough is wet and slimy out of the bag. (yuk.)

Flour a board and the dough lightly and roll it or pat it out with the heal of your hands.  I put a little too much flour on the board which meant the dough kept crawling back into it’s original size when I patted it with my hands.  

One important fact to remember about dough is don’t over work it.  In a panic of thinking “Don’t overwork it! Don’t overwork it.”  I rolled it into submission.  The result looked vaguely like the island of Malta. Okay. Not deterred by aesthetics, I barged on with the pizza making. 

I used about a half a cup of my homemade sauce smeared on the dough.  I am not into heavy sauce.

3/4 cup of strong onions sliced – the kind that make me cry

1/2 cup of artichoke hearts

1/2 – 3/4 freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1/2  cup of fresh Baby Belle mushrooms – which I cooked in olive oil and a little bit of garlic

Once the pizza is decked with the layers of toppings, hit it with some black pepper, basil and a smidge of oregano. Lastly, Drizzle a little olive oil on top.  Oh, I put the mushrooms on top of the cheese and I liked it!

Cook in a 350 degree oven*

*Note: That’s the recommended temperature for the dough.  But I had to crank it up to 375 and watched it like a hawk, because the edges of the dough never browned.  (Could be user error?)  Keep checking while baking it for 20 – 30 minutes. 

So much for guesswork. Here’s the result. The dough fresh out of the oven tasted too bread-like.  Next day cold and reheated in a warm oven – it tasted like good pizza.  

 Before

After – Pretty Tasty experiment.

After

Uh. oh. the tornado sirens are going off. (Not kidding!)

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen, Yeast Bread and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

