From Minnesota Grown + Freaky Weather

Friday at 1:00 p.m. 13:00 it was 26 degrees Fahrenheit and went up to 35 degrees. Saturday the temperature will go up to the 50s – 60s Fahrenheit. (“There is no global warming or climate change.” Riiight.)  This is Minnesota. For things to grow we need snow.  We have not had much snow. (Sounds like a paradox doesn’t it?)  We have snow instead of rain and without either we have dry weather, fire danger and poor crops.

In fact, the weather makes me almost giddy. I have only slipped and fallen once this winter and I’m not the only one. (No damage; except to my pride.) Yet, I am concerned about the parched look of the grass and the weather forecast that it will be a dry year. Not good for the farmers. The farmers in Minnesota are already worried about a dry summer.

In conversation about this today, I started to imagine what the effect would be on the farmers market.  My thoughts: the birds will be confused as well the plants, when the temperature goes up.  This coming week will be warmer than normal. Birds think: start having babies? Yes/No/Maybe? Should plants start budding?  The farmers market: will there be less growth without the moisture from the snowmelt? Will prices go up at the farmer’s market? (Sigh.) This is what happens to my mind after writing and reading about food for almost two years. (It could still snow.) What happens when the seasonal changes become unpredictable?

Minnesota Grown

Each year the Farmer’s Markets are a tradition that so many people enjoy. The amazing change that has happened is that more and more people are going to Farmer’s Markets all over the country.  When the rise and influence of the mega food giants has become so pervasive in our food cultures world wide, it is heartening to see the local markets bringing us closer together.

I feel more and more overwhelmed at a mega food store, because even when it is well stocked there is little to buy that is whole food. (I was looking for a whole chicken to bake last weekend and stopped at a large well-stocked food store.  There was no butcher. There were packaged meats.) Convenience food is so pervasive…it makes me dizzy to see everything wrapped in plastic.  I wonder what it would take for me to divest myself of my convenience food indulgences? I find myself longing for milk bottles with cream top milk.  I cannot find a fresh turkey, duck or goose at a grocery store. Here’s a list of butchers with ratings for Minneapolis: http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=butchers+in+minneapolis&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

Am I caught in nostalgia for food-simple? Is that a bad thing? Nahhh.  Find your Minnesota Farmer’s Market: http://www3.mda.state.mn.us/mngrown/?gclid=COrPpuPh3K4CFYhrKgod7kBtYA

Have a great freaky weather weekend!

Ah, the birds are singing.

 

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
Aside | This entry was posted in Farmer's Markets, Food Humor, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

