A Tale of TurDucken = Heberts Texas Cajun Specialty Meat

I was wandering through the aisles of a local Indian Grocery store on Central Avenue, with Richard the other day.  (I could be heard saying, “Look at that.” and “What this?” while munching on an Indian vegetarian delicacy.)  If you want basmati rice and anything in bulk (for those of you preparing for the “Zombie Apocalypse”) it’s a great place to shop.  If I had room, I would shop in bulk for these things myself.  I bought some incense for my place to cover up the smell of charred foods, that I sometimes leave too long on the stove while typing. (Nevermind.)

Patel Groceries

1835 Central Avenue Northeast, Minneapolis, MN 55418-4542 (612) 789-8800

Going anywhere with Richard means there are stories about food and answers to my questions.  Richard is an endless source and he entertained me with a great story about a personal assistant he knows who works for a big wig in Texas.  He was talking with her on the phone and told her that he and I made rabbit.  There was stone silence on the other end of the phone for a moment and the gravelly voice of his friend came back with “I love rabbit.  I get mine from Heberts.” [Pronounced A Bears] (That’s Cajun, baby.)

Richard was very excited because he knows about Heberts in Texas (Of course.) and begins to tell me the Legend of the Turducken.  Remember Heberts specializes in deboned meats.

A customer came in one day and asked Heberts to take a chicken debone add stuffing it, then put that inside a deboned duck, which gets trussed up and stuffed inside a turkey.  (There’s more stuffing involved, but I need visual aids to be really specific.) Anyhow, the customer never returned and that’s how they got started with Turducken.

Richard finished the story off.  You cook the turducken and serve.  When you cut it you are cutting through the layers of turkey, duck and chicken.  He says it in such a way that makes my mouth water.  I can see the birds and am imagining the luscious flavor.

In the end of the phone conversation with Texas, his friend says she is going to send him something from Heberts.  Richard is very excited and I am curious.

If I get a picture, then I’ll add it to this post.  For all you cooks out there who may want to try something different this holiday, Heberts ships their meats on dry ice.  I am providing a link to the Heberts’ site.

http://www.hebertstexas.com/

Have a Happy Turducken Day!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Poultry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

