“No Diet food Here” – Vivi-Anne’s Carbonara

 

Arugala Salad with sundied tomatoes goat cheese and olives

This evening I enjoyed learning to make Spaghetti Carbonara, in the land of cream, honey and no cholesterol, Sweden.  It’s easier than I imagined.

This is the salad with fresh from the garden arugula and rocket.  The dried tomatoes were soaked overnight in a mixture of olive oil, garlic, rosemary, thyme, oregano and basil – a little pepper.  Feta cheese and black olives were added to the salad. Vivi-Anne used this cute little implement that took out the pits from the olives. It all came together like magic. (You think I had something to do with this?)

Although, until Vivi-Anne handed me the wooden spoon with directions to cook it until it’s crispy, I would have never imagined me cooking any kind of bacon.  But there I was stirring away the thinnest cut bacon I’d ever seen.  It smelled really good.   After draining off the fat, Vivi-Anne had me add it to the already cooked mushroom and onion mixture.

Carbonara Mushroom, Onion & Bacon

Next batch was for the kids who do not eat mushrooms or onions.  I cooked up the bacon and watched as Vivi-Anne added about a cup and 1/2 of crème fraiche, some cream and a little pepper and nutmeg to create the sauce. This is what it looked like.

Carbonara sauce without onion and mushrooms

This is what the 2nd sauce with the mushrooms looked like.  It’s made with cream and no crème fraiche – didn’t have enough.  Cook up a nice spaghetti or fettuccini and serve.

Carbonara Sauce with Mushrooms and Onions

Needless to say, it was a delicious meal with lots of laughing; talking, joking, parrot squawking, dog sleeping, eating and general fun.

When I mentioned my cholesterol, Vivi-Anne answered, “No diet food here.”

Swedish style bacon is sliced paper thin compared to American bacon. Vivi-Anne opened the packages and sliced it into four to make the cooked pieces small when done. There was 140 grams used for the sauces. (I think, that’s what I heard.)  Italian bacon is thick.  There are countless recipes for Carbonara.  This one is simpler and just as tasty.  Don’t forget the salad. Superb.

Vivi-Anne with the Wonder dog Sasha

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

