Baked Stuff Fish = Do It Yourself Easy

Making an easy fish dish was on my mind when I bought a whole fish. (Head and tail attached.) My experience with fish is extensive. The first time I cooked a whole fish was on a barbecue in the tiny yard of little cottage by the water in Provincetown, Massachusetts.  Honestly, it was a time when you could go to the docks and the fisherman would give you the catch that the tourist fisherman didn’t want. (Nice.)  Someone started this little barbecue up, after I had brought the fish from the boat.  The fish grilled up quickly and I watched it closely. This was the second or third time I had cooked anything in my life. All went well, once cooked the fish flesh was flakey and fell apart. Everyone enjoyed it. I was grinning from ear to ear. I had cooked something!

Well, I bought fresh Red Snapper over a week ago. It had red scales that shimmered, a thick body and it was enough fish for maybe three to four people.  When I came home, I looked for a recipe for baked and stuffed fish. There are many recipes for stuffed fish! Here’s what I found.

*BAKED STUFFED FISH

Use a whole 3 to 5 pounds fish. Clean and rub the inside with salt. Make mushroom-onion stuffing and lightly pack in cavity. Fasten with skewers. Brush with salad oil and sprinkle with salt. Place in a greased shallow pan and bake 10 minutes per pound up to 4 pounds. Add 5 minutes per pound over 4 pounds.

OR Preheat oven to 350˚ Bake for 40-50 minutes**

STUFFING:

I changed the recipe for the stuffing to:

1 whole medium onion

1 cup of baby belle mushrooms sliced

Sauté in olive oil

Add some salt and pepper

1½ cup of Panko breadcrumbs

White wine

Original Stuffing Recipe:

Brown 3/4 cup chopped mushrooms and 3 tablespoons chopped onion in 1/4 cup butter. Combine with 2 1/2 cups soft breadcrumbs. Use white wine if you need moisture. Serve with Lemon Butter Sauce.

LEMON BUTTER SAUCE:

1/2 c. butter

2 tbsp. lemon juice

Melt butter and add lemon juice.

NOTES: I was not prepared to cut open the fish and clean it.  That was a new threshold to cross in cooking. So I took my trusty knife and opened up the fish. (Sharp knives are a must). There were guts I had to remove. With my eyes slightly closed I managed that. (Did I hold my breath? Probably.) There was blood coming from some where near the head and I had to wash and drain the fish.  (That was interesting; well I am trying to learn about cooking.) In the end, the fish was tender and flakey. The temperature for the oven was 350˚ and I cooked it for 50 minutes. I baked the fish in aluminum foil.  I combined two recipes. Here are links to the two recipes:

*http://www.cooks.com/rec/doc/0,1917,147184-227202,00.htmlRetrieved May 13, 2011.

The first recipe is very short* and I modified it from a Paula Dean Recipe**.

**http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/mushroom-stuffed-baked-red-snapper-recipe/index.html Retrieved May 13, 2011

Enjoy fresh baked fish.

“Provincetown the arrow that shot through.” Anonymous

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Fish, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

