Highland Café and Bakery – Let me eat cake!

CAKES Highland Cafe and Bakery

After this weekend it could be said that I succumbed to my biggest weakness without restraint. (Oh Yeah.)  The New Highland Café and Bakery is a semi-magical restaurant that has homemade food and bakery goods. (I know. You’d expect that a family restaurant like this doesn’t exist anymore.)

For people who enjoy sugar coma and beyond there is a surprising menu of the old standbys of breakfast, lunch, and dinner on the menu.  I hit there on Saturday for lunch and had their bowl of chili.  This was no wimpy sized bowl.  The chili was served with shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top. After the first bite, I ate like I had not eaten in a week. (Restaurant Chili is not something that I expect to be scrumptious.  It’s just my experience talking here.)  This chili proved to be really above and beyond my expectations.  I must have remarked with wide-eyed looks more than once, how good it tasted.

Okay. The low cholesterol diet went out of my mind when I walked in and saw these cakes just sitting in the case begging to be eaten.

Lots of conversation later and still feeling like I was on a gluttony slide to the third circle of Dante’s hell, I took a look at the cake menu and was given the lowdown on the selections.  A cake called “Chocolate Chocolate” was chosen to complete this indulgent person’s food lust. (That would be me.) Okay, supurrlatives were in order.  This was not a heavy-handed chocolate cake. The cake was a sponge with a dark chocolate frosting that floated into my waiting tongue.  (Cool off, woman.)  It was the tall cake lurking in the back of the case that caught my eye.  When I finished, I needed a walk. I was thoroughly satisfied.

Chocolate Chocolate Cake

This was not the end of the cake bonanza weekend. Unsuspecting little me went to a gathering on Sunday afternoon and enjoyed homemade cupcakes with ice cream to celebrate a birthday.  That’s not all that happened.  I had a birthday dinner to attend that night.  More cake!

The Highland Cafe and Bakery is tucked away in a small strip mall in St Paul.  I want to recommend this café and bakery not only for its cakes, but for the good service and the food.  You can find some nice curry dishes on the menu too. Hmm, feeling peckish for food in a homey restaurant where you don’t have to stand in line to get in?  Try it. You may like it.

Highland Cafe and Bakery

Highland Café and Bakery 2012 Ford Parkway St. Paul, MN 55116 | Highland Park | 651.698.3400

Hours

Sunday – Wednesday

7:00am – 8:00pm

Thursday – Saturday

7:00am – 9:00pm

Take out Available and catering. You can order one of their cakes or pies.

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Cake, Restaurants and Cafes, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

