Saturday Celebration – Let’s Eat! – Lisa Larson Caterer

Saturday I was invited to a celebration at a former coworkers’ house.  I was hoping that the Google map I printed would get me out there okay. It’s nerve wracking not to know my way around out in the wilds of suburbia.  But I found my destination. The house was nestled in a dead end street. With snow still on the ground as a background, black tree branches etched a frame around the houses and as I walked up the New England style, yellow house I felt that I slipped through a portal to one of my old childhood neighborhoods.

It was a lovely house inside with big picture windows. The families’ big lab had been banished to an upper bedroom.  The guests all were enjoying the food, which I spied right away. (Before I left home I had fleeting thoughts about the food. Would it be good? Those thoughts were arrested at the sight of the plates of good stuff I saw. No pizza rolls there.) “Let’s Eat!” Caterer, Lisa Larson had put out a spread that anyone would be pleased to serve. I talked to Lisa and found out she is known by her reputation as a caterer. Lisa is a totally charming and elegant person, who turned her passion for food into an art form.

She served a gougères from the “Silver Palette” book. (I know. It’s French and we enthused over French food together.) I asked if it was made with Gruyere cheese. It was and also made with some goat cheese. They were little puffs of warm bites of flour, egg and cheese combined and baked that disappeared faster than you can say gougères. Lisa served a variety of hors d’oeuvres – small medallions of tender beef and French bread.  Desserts were strawberries dipped in chocolate and decorated with white chocolate and bite size melt-in-your-mouth lemon bars, chocolate brownies among other tasty treats. Everything looked beautiful and tasted the same!  Lisa has been a caterer for twenty years.

If you are looking for an in-home caterer in the Minneapolis area Lisa Larson can be reached at letseat@usfamily.net.

If you are interested, here’s a blog site that has a gossipy bit about living in Paris and a recipe for gougères.

http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2009/01/gougeres-french-cheese-puffs/

Have a celebration!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

