Bad Day At Black Rock – The Cure is Pickles and Cake

Once in a while I have a day that winds me up – result a migraine.  Tuesday was just that kind of day.  I went to one of my stress relief corners of the universe, a café with good coffee and sandwiches.  I had my shades on to block the sun that had appeared after days of gray and temperatures that went from 20 to 40 degrees in a few hours. (Oh, Minnesota! It’s all about the weather.) When I arrived there was only me and then followed two other customers.  I ordered from a very sympathetic person who offered me Excedrin. “Thanks, I have some. That’s what the (decaf) coffee is for.” And ½ Turkey sandwich with sprouts, pickles and mustard. “It comes with chips and pickle.” “That’s fine.” I replied. “I’ll bring it to you,” She gave me a number on a metal stand. Because I was the only person in the place at that moment it seemed like a nice gesture.  She was kind.

Blinding pain was coursing through my skull. The food, decaf and relative tranquility were restorative.  Johnny Cash was whining away in the background.  Minor irritant. Sound and light sensitivity happens with migraines.  I reflected. Pickles in a sandwich may be a partial cure for migraines.  It’s not something I ever eat – pickles in a sandwich – that was a weird choice.  By the time the sandwich was eaten, the decaf drunk, and Excedrin washed down, my head had shrunken and with some equilibrium in my brain regained, I moved on to home. Food and café kindness cure.

The story doesn’t end here. Kira, a coworker, told me earlier in the day that National Geographic Channel was televising a show about a new theory on Atlantis in Spain. Who could I call? I wanted to see the show. Alan, who kindly consented to let me come over.  I stopped and bought him a piece of vegan cake from Seward Co-op. Little did I know what food delights awaited me.  Alan was busy preparing a meal for himself. (Alan is a major Foodie.)  His friend and co-worker had given him a cake from Woulett’s in St. Paul. He brought it out and my jaw fell open. There was this pale green layer of marzipan covering a cake that was a light as a cloud.  He cut me a slice while explaining this was the same type of cake his friend had for her wedding.  Woulett’s cake, this cake was so refined and light. The marzipan was not sticky, icky sweet. (It’s not one of my preferred things to eat because it usually is sickeningly sweet.)  I was almost thinking it was healthy. (Okay, I am deluded.) It was sooo scrumptious.

Then we tasted the vegan chocolate cake and Alan almost couldn’t stop eating it.  It too was scrumptious. I had a small bite to concur with his moans about how good it was. Food. Cake. Friends.  No more migraine.

Woulett’s is found in Minneapolis – Uptown, Edina, Robbinsdale, Wayzata

http://www.wuollet.com/cakes_howstack.asp?sPL=

1080 Grand Avenue St. Paul, MN 55105 (651) 292-9035

Hours: 7 to 6 Mon – Sat

Seward Co-op

Seward Co-op makes all their own bakery goods, which are top quality.  They don’t advertise this fact on their site. That’s silly.

Open 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily | 612-338-2465 | 2823 East Franklin Avenue Minneapolis, MN 55406

DIRECTIONS http://seward.coop/store

Notes: Bad Day at Black Rock See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bad_Day_at_Black_Rock

This is a western and film noir from 1955.  For me it has become a euphemism for, you guessed it, a Bad Day.

 

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

