Stuffed Cornish Game Hen More Snow Than Ever

Snow keeps dusting the city. There seems to be no end in sight. (Take heart.) Even if you can’t get away to a warm climate like the well off do, there’s always making good food to while away the hours before the next storm hits.  Minnesota is working on a snowfall record.  I am working on Stuffed Cornish game hen.  Looking at recipes with apricots – some with a sauce other’s with stuffing – I took an idea with rice stuffing and put together a creation of my own. (Craazy.)

I had left over rice and to that I added scallions or green onions, 2-3 tablespoons of tart plum jam, ½ chopped white onion, 2 tablespoons of chopped celery, and about a teaspoonful left over curry sauce. (Have you lost your mind?) I stuffed the Cornish game hen with the mixture.  Next came a salt and pepper rub on the little darling bird, olive oil and a little red wine drizzled on the outside.

En fin, then I put it in a 350˚ oven for an hour and fifteen minutes.  Basting as needed. The left over stuffing mix was added about midway.  During the last fifteen minutes I baked the bird for ten minutes at 400˚ to brown the skin.

It was very rich. The tender meat fell off the bone.   Cornish game hen tastes much sweeter than chicken. The rice filling was sweet not spicy. That was a pleasant surprise.

I followed the baking instructions on the package, which made it simple to experiment with a stuffing.  There was a lot of fat from the baking, but that made for easy basting.  I’d have this again.  Something different on long winter’s eve to make me feel civilized.

Cornish Game Hen

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Game Birds, Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

