Culinary Dysphoria or “Your Goose Is Cooked”

Planning a meal is a creative activity. While talking about what to do with the goose that Richard has in his freezer, Richard unearthed a cookbook on wild game. (Yes. It’s a wild goose that is already dressed and ready to cook. It’s another gift from his brother-in-law.) That means that the goose has no skin on it.  Geese are known for their high fat content, but this is a wild goose and may not be as fatty, claims Richard. “I have never used this book,” Richard adds, “I had it for years.”

It was a small paperback from 2005 and I flipped through it. I looked at the index and there was one whole section of goose recipes. I began to read and stopped at the goose potpie page because I had recently made and posted a chicken potpie recipe. I was curious to see the ingredients in this recipe with goose.  The recipe listed the usual ingredients until, as I was reading aloud, my voice caught on the instruction to use American processed cheese. “Must be used as a thickener,” I say dryly. Richard laughs and says, ”That’s what a roux is for.”

“They have the recipe for a scratch crust for it, but they are using processed cheese?” I mumble incredulously. (I am stunned.) Richard says, “It must be some kind of culinary disphoria”*.  Laughter erupts and more laughter rolls out of me. (Whew! I take this stuff too seriously.) Here are the possible selections for the next food fest with wild game that were pulled together by chef Richard.  I am looking further into this and sneaking a peak at Madame Julia’s recipes to see what she rustled up with goose. As you can see, there are many ways to cook your goose.

Richard’s List of Recipes and Choices

  1. Roast goose
  2. Orange chili glazed good
  3. Apricot glazed goose
  4. Fruit glazed goose breast
  5. Smoked goose
  6. Currant mustard goose breast
  7. Goose jerky
  8. Oriental barbecue goose kabobs
  9. Goose cacciatore
  10. Goose pot pie
  11. Zesty goose rice casserole
  12. Oriental goose salad
  13. Curried goose & spinach
  14. Goose salad sandwiches
  15. Barbecue goose sandwiches
  16. Moroccan Goose Coucous (which I nominate purely on poetic aesthetics)
  17. Smoky split pea & goose soup
  18. Smoked goose & vegetable soup
  19. Spanish rice & goose casserole
  20. Goose lasagna casserole

So that’s the Cliff Notes of my game bird cookbook.  I think 4 through 5 deserve some exploration, but I will look for more recipes, and I know you’re doing the same. – Richard

More to come on this endeavor. Savor that thought.

A quick search located this neighbor to the west of Minnesota. From Schlitz goose farms in Sisseton, South Dakota goose products . http://www.schiltzfoods.com

Retrieved January 31, 2011.


*Dysphoria (from Greek δύσφορος (dysphoros), from δυσ-, difficult, and φέρειν, to bear) is an unpleasant or uncomfortable mood, such as sadness (depressed mood), anxiety, irritability, or restlessness.[1] Etymologically, it is the opposite of euphoria.” Retrieved from Wikipedia January 31, 2011. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dysphoria

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Game Birds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

