Sunnyside Up Cafe Minneapolis = Good Food

Sorry to say this cafe has closed.

The first of the five senses to go when I have a cold is my sense of smell, which happens to be inordinately sensitive most days. What that does to my appetite is diminish it. If I can’t smell food then I can’t savor the aroma and hunger does not overwhelm me with desire.  Is this a good thing? Feed a cold? Starve a cold? All I know is that I have eaten so many chicken soups in the past 2 weeks as a cure that I can say commercial soups are too salty. My own soups were too dull to mention.  Although after so many bowls of chicken soup, I decided it tastes better with carrots along with a little celery and onion.

Having saturated my body with so much chicken soup, you might think that I’d had enough. When I ventured out in the real world to do some errands, I stopped by an old favorite breakfast spot, The Sunnyside Up Café.

Located at: 2704 Lyndale Ave S., Minneapolis, MN 55408.

It was lunchtime. The familiar bright colored kitchen table clothes are a reminder about cheery days in a friendly kitchen. This cafe does a bustling breakfast business. There are times when one waits in line to get in there on the weekends.  One important note is that the staff is friendly. This makes the experience homey feeling to me.

When I walked into the place there were a few people for lunch.  A young woman walked up to me and was so disarming when she spoke to me, “How are you doing?”

Her sincerity broke through to me.  In a moment of pure truth, I responded in a somewhat pathetic, croaky voice, “Okay.”

The young woman grabbed a menu and said warmly, “Let’s get some food into you.” She led the way to a table and asked if I wanted something to drink. “Chamomile Tea, please?” This sweet person sped away and brought back the tea.  After a short conference about the specials for the day, which I couldn’t see from where I was sitting, this angel of mercy read them to me. Most were breakfast items, but none appealed until she reached the lunch special.  Chicken and vegetable soup with a ham and cheese melt sandwich on pumpernickel bread.  (Now why would I want chicken soup yet again?)

This soup was better than anything I could make. The cook had stuffed it with large pieces of tender chicken, carrots, mushrooms, and peas.  He spiced it with just a hint of tomato and maybe some chili pepper (The taste buds were kicking in on low.)  This subtle addition transformed into a slightly picante and flavorful hearty soup for a winter’s day lunch. It warmed me up.  With each bite the promise that the waitperson made about the “soup being really good” was fulfilled and then some.  (I looked at the sandwich thinking, can I eat all of that?)

The ham and cheese on pumpernickel was just right. If Goldilocks had been there, she would have eaten it all up.

Restored, revived and satisfied, I realized that home cookin’ restaurants still exist in Minneapolis.  This restaurant has a reputation for great breakfasts. People stand in line to get in on the weekends. Just want to let you know that The Sunnyside Up has a decent lunch menu. When you are in the area or in need of homey sustenance, stop in for a meal with some kindness and caring to go.

I feel better.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

