Jackson’s Coffee and Gelato = a Five Star Cafe for Java and Gelato

Jackson’s Coffee and Gelato  822 W Lake St

Minneapolis, MN 55408-4624

Directions: http://www.jacksonscoffeeandgelato.com/directions.php

Yesterday was perfect autumn weather.  The bright sun splashed around all the fall colors as a gentle, occasional breeze swirled red and yellow leaves in the streets of Minneapolis.  Taking a break, I wound up on Lake Street in the Uptown neighborhood looking for a cup of Java with my friend Richard.  It had been a while since the last time I’d been in the Lyn-Lake area.  It’s a busy intersection that has seen much development and change over the last years.  The camera shop, where I had my camera repaired is long gone and replaced by a Dunn Brothers Café.  Right across the street is Jackson’s Coffee and Gelato. Richard suggested we try it.  (Oh boy! Gelato!)

This café is clean. The staff is friendly. There is Internet connection, good coffee, very good baked goods, fun décor and homemade gelato. (Italian style ice cream has lower butterfat content than ice cream.) Stop the presses; if you haven’t had gelato it’s worth your time to visit Jackson’s and try the taste of Italian culinary genius.  The gelato is creamy, tastes of fresh flavors and ingredients, and is like nothing else I have found in Minneapolis.  I tasted the Watermelon and the Mojito gelato.  They were really perfect. Who would have thunk it – watermelon?  It looked and tasted like fresh melon.  In contrast, the Mojito had several subtle flavors that I wouldn’t expect in ice cream.  It was amazing!  Delicious! Great atmosphere. Whoo Hoo!  Thanks Richard.

Now I don’t have to learn how to make gelato.  An adventure I have seriously considered recently.  There are days when I long for gelato.

The reason for this yearning is my fond memories of years ago when I lived in a town that had a gelato store – an Italian family business that had their own recipes.  It was called La Venezia. The town was picturesque with typically northern European brick streets and buildings and canals running through it.  My dog and I would walk to town and one day I went in to try the gelato.  Situated on a corner, the store had large windows and the floor and walls were tiled in white. The store was bright and inviting. There was a long serving counter and the typical ice cream parlour chairs and tables for the customers. (Picture an ice cream parlour with gelato.)  The gelato was served in a cone or a cup in the typical flavors you might expect.  One added bonus was the custom to serve the ice cream with a huge dollop of fresh whipped cream on top. (Yes, even the cones.)  The creamy consistency and flavors had me coming back on a regular basis.  The gelato makers would make certain flavors at different times of year. Oh, my dog was allowed in the store too.  She would have her own cup of vanilla gelato.  After a few times of enjoying her cup of gelato, my dog would swerve to go into the store as we passed it on the way home. I had to laugh. She knew a good thing when she ate it.  (Good thing too that I walked a lot.)  Going there was my guilty pleasure.

And yesterday, well yesterday has me thinking about going back to Jackson’s again in the near future.

Enjoy a treat today!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

