Apple Sauce Cake and Wine Buying Day – What to do when it’s raining

Did you know that you cannot send wine out of the state of Minnesota?  Well, it is true.  I bought a bottle of wine for a friend’s upcoming birthday and asked at the check out counter,  “What is the best way to ship wine?  The young brunette bounced away with a “Wait a minute. I’ll ask.”  She came back after a long explanation was given, a few rows away, which I only heard snatches of as I waited a minute.  The brunette returned all smiles, “You can’t send wine. But you can send olive oil.  Roll and tape card board round it and put it in a wooden box as olive oil.  You won’t get into trouble.”  I stood there a little dumbstruck and said, “This might be a bad idea.”   Minnesota is one of those states,” she said and proceeded to ring me up, “where you can’t send wine.” I didn’t even get a chance to change my mind. I know I can buy it online and send it from somewhere else in the US.  Well, so much for the nice thought and gesture.

I have a nice bottle of Pinot Noir sitting here.  (Let me think about this.)

To consol myself on this raining-like-the-flood day, I have an applesauce cake in the oven.  MMMMMM. It’s starting to smell like cake.  I made applesauce yesterday and ate that for dessert with the Sweet Potato Pot Pie, which was so good!  (Ming Tsai really knows how to combine east/west ingredients.)  I went apple picking on Tuesday but there were some old apples in the fridge that were almost past their use by date.  It gave me the opportunity to tryout the apple coring dofloggie thing that I bought.  Once I peeled the apples, I set to using this metal device that cuts out slices and cores the apple in one quick press of my little hands.

Wow! What a genius device. It makes perfectly cut apples slices for pie. It’s the little things that give me joy. You can tell I’m an amateur, right?

With all the apples piled up in a bowl, I threw some brown sugar, a dash of salt and a little of my volcanic lemon juice from Italy on them.  Oh, oh. What’s that smell? Fermentation?  O well, I put some water in the pan. The apples cooked up just beautifully.

Applesauce Cake Recipe from B. Eva Howell, Wichita, Kansas, “The Business of Cooking Desserts”, Page 48, the American Business Women’s Association, Favorite Recipes, 1967.

Ingredients

½ cup shortening

2 cups sugar

1 egg

1 ½ cup thick unsweetened applesauce

2 teaspoons of baking soda

½ cup of boiling water

2½ cup of flour

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon each of cinnamon, cloves, and allspice

1 cup of chopped raisins

½ cup chopped walnuts

Directions

Cream shortening and sugar; blend in egg and applesauce. Add soda mixed with boiled water. Add flour sifted with salt and spices. Blend in raisins and walnuts. Do not over beat. Pour batter into an 8 x 12 inch pan, Bake one hour at 350 degrees.

Notes: I did not use the raisin and walnuts in this cake. I made a streusel topping for the cake instead with a sprinkling of chopped pecans.

Streusel Topping:

1/2 cup (65 grams) all purpose flour

1/2-teaspoon ground cinnamon

3 tablespoons (40 grams) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces

1/4-cup (70 grams) brown sugar

1/4 cup (20 grams) toasted and coarsely chopped hazelnuts (can use walnuts or pecans)

Streusel Topping: In a large bowl, mix together the flour and ground cinnamon. Cut in the butter with a pastry blender or fork until it resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the brown sugar and chopped hazelnuts. Set aside while you make the cake batter.

From: http://www.joyofbaking.com/AppleStreuselCake.html#ixzz10OZgkqdB retrieved September 23, 2010

Applesauce cake with Streusel Topping

Taste Test: It’s a good cake recipe with a light and fluffy texture and pieces of apple. The applesauce is chunky – homemade. Could serve with whipped cream, cinnamon or vanilla ice cream or a little applesauce, maybe? I am consoled. Let it rain!

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

