Speaking of Duck

Minnesota and duck hunting are, well, very Minnesotan.  Sitting at a local park admiring the ducks, I was talking about eating duck with a friend.  I found out about a culinary experience that would fit well into the duck hunter’s barbeque recipe file – Beer Can Duck. (Yup! That’s a real recipe.) Although when I first heard about it, I did a double take.  Doubting the veracity of the speaker, I declaimed, “Are you serious? How do you do that?”  The reply was graphic enough to be hilarious and I found myself laughing very hard at the thought of putting an open beer can inside a duck.  “Come on, Really? Do you take the head off of it?” (I really asked that.)  Okay, vegetarians close your eyes and read no further.  I deserved the facetious reply, “The duck pops its head out of the top of the barbecue, so that it can swivel around.” (More laughing.) It was a hilarious and repulsive image all at the same time. Well here’s a recipe, should you care to try it.  I found it at Barbecue University: http://www.bbqu.net/season1/107_4.html August 10, 2010.

This is a fancy version, which takes the French recipe Canard à l’orange to a new level.  If you read it you may understand the comic nature of this particular barbeque.

Anyway, later in the weekend, I did enjoy an appetizer of duck confit – a duck leg – and pate with rhubarb jam served with toasted, very thin slices of baguette.  (No beer cans were involved in this recipe.) The restaurant, the Red Stag Supper Club has this on the menu.  They support local and organic food producers.  The quality of the taste of the duck leg and the pate was fresh and rich. (Go organic!) I am not a fan of rhubarb, but I found the slight tartness of it combined with the very rich meats a perfect flavor complement.  Smart cooking and mouth-watering goodness turned me around on liking rhubarb.

Their menu has a good variety of choices.  They also have Slow Food Sunday and for $19.00 you are treated to a special. They had lamb on Sunday and it was very nicely done.  I sampled a smidgeon.  For dinner I enjoyed the goat cheese ravioli with corn, cherries and basil. (Sounds weird doesn’t it?)  It was an inspired way to dress up ravioli.  Yummy! (I am completely spoiled.)

http://www.redstagsupperclub.com/

Back to my own inventions!  Your comments and recipes are welcome.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

