Irish Soda Scones Meets Leftover Lemon Curd

Did I mention a cholesterol issue? Yes, it’s true. I must amend my ways.  But I don’t despair as my cooking repertoire could stand a refresher on the vegetarian diet.  What I know about cooking meat would not even fill a paragraph.  I once cooked a goose for a dinner party from a recipe.   I have cooked turkey and chicken with some success. Nothing fancy.  I cook fish, but it often looks overcooked. (Still can’t figure that out.)

Luckily, I learned to cook from vegetarian cookbooks, which I still possess and use.  After all, being a die-hard vegetarian when it was not “trendy” meant I had to be inventive with my cooking.  Once, I tackled homemade wonton dough for homemade vegetarian egg rolls.  They were fine, but the work involved made that a one-time wonder.

What am I blithering about?  Time to dust off the vegetarian cookbooks and start steaming my vegetables.  However, before launching into my total abstinence from animal fats, namely the butter that I love so well, there’s the little matter of the leftover lemon curd.  It is sitting in my refrigerator begging for me to eat it.  There’s a lot of butter in it. (Gotta’ love it.)

After the two-cake baking weekend, there was leftover lemon curd, which I used between the layers of cake.  Naturally, I wanted to eat it, but sourdough Wasa (hard crackers) just didn’t seem a fitting way to serve lemon curd. (There goes the timer. The Irish Soda Scones are ready!)

Irish scones are made with baking soda and buttermilk, unlike Cream Scones, which have a lot of butter.  They have a hard outer crust with a flaky inside.  Serving suggestions are with jams, stew or soup.  At this moment, I can attest that they are delicious with the leftover lemon curd.  The recipe recommends mixing whole wheat with all-purpose flour.  (I used 1cup whole wheat and 2 cups of all-purpose flour for this batch.) The whole-wheat taste adds body to the overall flavor.  Scrumptious snack.  My original inspiration for these scones is from a recipe from Kate Gardiner’s mother.  Kate lives in Groningen, Netherlands and gave me this recipe for My “X Birthday”.

Recipe from the Joy of Baking:

Irish Soda Scones:

3 cups (390 grams) all-purpose flour (or a mixture of whole wheat flour and white all purpose flour)

1 tablespoon (15 grams) granulated white sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups (360 ml) buttermilk

Irish Soda Scones: Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C) and place rack in center of oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and add most of the buttermilk. Using one hand, or a wooden spoon, mix (adding more buttermilk if necessary) until you have a soft, moist dough.

Transfer the dough to a lightly floured surface and gently knead the dough into a 7 – 8 inch (18 – 23 cm) round. Cut this circle into 6 triangular sections. Place the scones on your prepared baking sheet and brush the tops with a little extra buttermilk and then dust with a little flour. This gives the baked scones a wonderful floury brown crust.

Bake for about 20 minutes or until nicely browned and a toothpick inserted into the center of a scone comes out clean. Test by tapping the bottom of a scone – it should sound hollow. Remove from oven and place on a wire rack. These scones are best served warm from the oven with a little butter and jam.

Makes 6 large scones.

Read more: http://www.joyofbaking.com/IrishSodaScones.html#ixzz0v5PcMp9i July 28, 2010

Bake and enjoy. Watch that cholesterol.

About kunstkitchen

Visual artist and writer hunting words, languages, visions, and insight in my kitchen - connecting Art (Kunst) and culture and slow food cooking. Credits: Do not own a microwave oven and never have. Do not own a food processor. Chopped veggies in a Zen monastery for a weekend. (Seriously) Classically trained artist. Paint and draw with traditional materials. Live in the Northland where it's six months of winter. Appreciate the little things in life. Sharing food and art experiences and the lessons that my talented and generous friends have given me.
This entry was posted in Slow food and art in the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

